Moderator
Jan Dembowski
(@jdembowski)
Forum Moderator and Brute Squad
Is this link exploits the WP login form?
Nope. That’s the normal redirection for when you hit http://your-site/wp-admin/ and you are not already logged in.
spassoweb.com
[Please do not use hidden redirected links]
Andrew Nevins
(@anevins)
WCLDN 2018 Contributor | Volunteer support
When I go to your wp-admin page I get this URL:
Yes, but it is not the same with this:
http://188.143.204.84/blog/wp-login.php?redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2FMY_DOMAIN_NAME.com%2Fwp-admin%2F&reauth=1716
My english is not good but i think i was clear to describe my problem!
@andrew Nevins: can you please remove my site url away from your post?
I am unable to get this url when I try http://your_domain/wp-admin
Have you see the image that i linked in the first post?!
I’m referring to that!
I’m saying that button have that link (http://188.143.204.84/blog/wp-login.php?redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2FMY_DOMAIN_NAME.com%2Fwp-admin%2F&reauth=1716).
Is maybe exploiting any leak in WP login function?
We cannot replicate your issue. Nor are there any known leaks in the WP login functionality.
Moderator
Jan Dembowski
(@jdembowski)
Forum Moderator and Brute Squad
It’s a phishing e-mail. Do not attempt to login to that site (obviously) and just delete it.
This does not mean there is any exploit in WordPress. It does mean that there are Very Bad People™ who spammed you in an attempt to get login ID and password.
I know it is a phishing email.
Anyone here has see the title, the text and the image posted by me in this topic?!?
Anyway how that external link can contain my site URL?
Haven’t i to get worried about security of my site?
how that external link can contain my site URL?
It’s a very simple process to harvest domain names for WordPress sites. Or Joomla sites. Or Drupal sites. Or sites using a particular forum app. There is nothing inherently insecure about that.
Phishing emails happen all of the time. As it so happens, I’ve just this minute received one that claims I need to login to “my cPanel” to correct an issue or my hosting account will be suspended.
You got one that referred to a WordPress site. Maybe next week, you’ll get one that relates to a bank account that you simply don’t have. Just bin them and forget them.
Moderator
Jan Dembowski
(@jdembowski)
Forum Moderator and Brute Squad
As you’ve pointed out: it’s a phishing e-mail. It takes you to some other login screen on a very bad site. It uses a simple URL that it easily created using a template that was sent.
That is all there is to it. Someone sending you an e-mail with a URL does not mean anything to the security of your site.
Rather that worrying about an email you really should maintain your site.
- Backup your WordPress installation files and database.
http://codex.wordpress.org/WordPress_Backups
http://codex.wordpress.org/Backing_Up_Your_Database
http://codex.wordpress.org/Restoring_Your_Database_From_Backup
- Upgrade your plugins and themes to the latest versions.
- Upgrade to the latest version of WordPress. The version you are running is exploitable.
This Codex article should help you regarding the upgrade.
http://codex.wordpress.org/Updating_WordPress
That’s a great way to start securing your site.
Edit: Esmi beat me to the reply by only 24 seconds. I’m getting dinner now. 😉
@esmi: thank you for your explanation but i know what a phishing email is.
I opened this topic because it seemed to be a leak of my website.
I was wrong, sorry if i annoyed anyone here 🙁
PS: can you remove my site name from my post? Thank you.
@jan Dembowski: all done, thank you!
esmi can you please remove my site URL from this topic?
Or just “mask” it.
Thank you.