WordPress.org

Ready to get started?Download WordPress

Plugin Reviews

CKEditor For WordPress

This plugin replaces the default WordPress editor with CKEditor.

21 reviews
Average Rating
4 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
3 stars
Even this old 2012 version has some improvements current editor
By ,

The new WP 3.9 editor (TMCE4) has caused quite a number of unresolved issues for the past few months even this old plugin seems to help with.
I have not been able to figure out how to safely revert the TMCE in core back to 3.x, or get the buttons and functionality back we lost, but even this old CKEditor has features and options I'm digging.
Unfortunately it's old and buggy, probably mostly just because it hasn't been updated in years. At first I just thought CKEditor was buggy compared to TMCE and never realized how old this version is. I will try to figure out how the plugin works to update it with current CKE and how to update/post a plugin, but if anyone else wants to please do not worry about stepping on my toes!

1 star
Exploit in CKEditor Plugin can be used to send SPAM
By , for WP 3.9.1

Here are some lines from the PHP mail.log:
2014-07-08 13:41:24 To: chukirana@yahoo.com From: "Susanna Medina" <susanna_medina@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com> ==> /path/to/wp/wp-content/plugins/ckeditor-for-wordpress/ckeditor/plugins/uicolor/icons
2014-07-08 13:41:24 To: chukiru@univision.com From: "Susanna Medina" <susanna_medina@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com> ==> /path/to/wp/wp-content/plugins/ckeditor-for-wordpress/ckeditor/plugins/uicolor/icons
2014-07-08 13:41:24 To: chukis101@hotmail.com From: "Susanna Medina" <susanna_medina@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com> ==> /path/to/wp/wp-content/plugins/ckeditor-for-wordpress/ckeditor/plugins/uicolor/icons
2014-07-08 13:41:24 To: chukis118@yahoo.com From: "Susanna Medina" <susanna_medina@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com> ==> /path/to/wp/wp-content/plugins/ckeditor-for-wordpress/ckeditor/plugins/uicolor/icons
2014-07-08 13:41:24 To: chukis99@aol.com From: "Susanna Medina" <susanna_medina@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com> ==> /path/to/wp/wp-content/plugins/ckeditor-for-wordpress/ckeditor/plugins/uicolor/icons
2014-07-08 13:41:24 To: chukis@q.com From: "Susanna Medina" <susanna_medina@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com> ==> /path/to/wp/wp-content/plugins/ckeditor-for-wordpress/ckeditor/plugins/uicolor/icons
2014-07-08 13:41:24 To: chukis_99@yahoo.com From: "Susanna Medina" <susanna_medina@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com> ==> /path/to/wp/wp-content/plugins/ckeditor-for-wordpress/ckeditor/plugins/uicolor/icons
2014-07-08 13:41:25 To: chukitobabyitzel@yahoo.com From: "Susanna Medina" <susanna_medina@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com> ==> /path/to/wp/wp-content/plugins/ckeditor-for-wordpress/ckeditor/plugins/uicolor/icons

1 star
Not compatible anymore
By , for WP 3.9.1

I am so disappointed that this plugin is no longer supported. It was by far the best editor for WordPress. It now causes popups of "If you navigate away from this page all updates will be lost" among many other glitches. AVOID THIS PLUGIN.

4 stars
incompatible with Visual Composer
By , for WP 3.8.1

It works well, but it´s incompatible with Visual composer :((

1 star
automatic tags added in 4.0 version
By , for WP 3.8.1

I found this issue and many alternatives to correct it in the 4.0 version.
Is there an update to fix this?

5 stars
The best
By , for WP 3.8

This is the best option that combine simplicity and power.

2 stars
Empty vertical spaces and indexing of plugin files
By ,

It could be a great editor but there's still no solution for the empty white vertical spaces added automatically as empty lines in many instances, even if you manually remove them - they come back whenever you switch between code / visual tans in the editor. Many posts about this problem for several years now and no real solution yet...

Also be aware that all of this plugin files will be indexed by google and show up in search results for your domain, i,e, site:www.domain.com

None of my other plugins files are indexed and show up in search results

5 stars
Great! Met my expectations!
By , for WP 3.5.2

Excellent plugin, helped me a lot.

2 stars
No longer maintained and supported (apparently)
By , for WP 3.5.2

Some nice features in CKEditor, but the plugin has too many issues, from   being spewed everywhere to formatting being changed. The included CKEditor library is not up to date and conflicts with other plugins and new versions of WordPress abound.

1 star
really hate it
By ,

some many bugs, scroll to bottom when paste, extra style and text insert, not compatile with many other plugin etc

You must log in to submit a review. You can also log in or register using the form near the top of this page.