Is there anything that explains this a little better. I have read about trackbacks in the wordpress documentation, but it doesn't go into how it works technically. i.e. generating comments and approving them and such. The test comment is different form the "trackback" I am talking about. I was trying to replicate this mysterious "trackback" with no success. This is what my comment admin page looks like:
1.
admin | administrator@shutterscript.com | IP: 76.19.128.29
test
Mar 18, 2:57 AM — [ Edit | Delete | Unapprove | Approve | Spam | View Post ]
2.
Welcome to Shutterscript! at Shutterscript | shutterscript.com/?p=3 | IP: 70.86.181.34
[…] About […]
Mar 17, 12:42 PM — [ Edit | Delete | Unapprove | Approve | Spam | View Post ]
3.
Mr WordPress | wordpress.org | IP:
Hi, this is a comment.
To delete a comment, just log in and view the post's comments. There you will have the option to edit or delete them.
Mar 16, 4:27 PM — [ Edit | Delete | Unapprove | Approve | Spam | View Post ]
A whois for the unknow IP address reveals this:
OrgName: ThePlanet.com Internet Services, Inc.
OrgID: TPCM
Address: 1333 North Stemmons Freeway
Address: Suite 110
City: Dallas
StateProv: TX
PostalCode: 75207
Country: US
ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.theplanet.com:4321
NetRange: 70.84.0.0 - 70.87.255.255
CIDR: 70.84.0.0/14
NetName: NETBLK-THEPLANET-BLK-13
NetHandle: NET-70-84-0-0-1
Parent: NET-70-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.THEPLANET.COM
NameServer: NS2.THEPLANET.COM
Comment:
RegDate: 2004-07-29
Updated: 2006-02-17
RTechHandle: PP46-ARIN
RTechName: Pathos, Peter
RTechPhone: +1-214-782-7800
RTechEmail:
OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE271-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Abuse
OrgAbusePhone: +1-214-782-7802
OrgAbuseEmail:
OrgNOCHandle: TECHN33-ARIN
OrgNOCName: Technical Support
OrgNOCPhone: +1-214-782-7800
OrgNOCEmail:
OrgTechHandle: TECHN33-ARIN
OrgTechName: Technical Support
OrgTechPhone: +1-214-782-7800
OrgTechEmail:
As it turns out, you are correct. This IP address is in fact the IP address of my site (I wasn't convinced since the whois info has nothing to do with hostgator, my actual hosting providor, until it traced back to this IP address... very strange).
All I really want to know is how the that link got there, why it got there, and how to replicate it. Thanks again for the help.