Forums

strangre and ominous referers. (2 posts)

  1. joehark
    Member
    Posted 5 years ago #

    In looking at the logs for my blog, I am finding the same strange URL that allegedly links to my site. The URLs lead to a page that appears to be some kind of a placeholder and I suspect it is a spam source. Whatever it is, they are up to no good.

    Here's a few of the URLs
    {snip}/alan-casino-jackson-rama/casino-falls-near-niagara.php

    {snip}/29-casino-palm/casino-free-gambling-internet.php

    {snip}/hard-rock-hotel-and-casino-tampa-florida/beau-rivage-resort-casino.php

    There are no links onthat I could see on those pages to my WP blog and then there are such strange things as an alleged link from

    http://sads.myspace.com//Modules/Search/Pages/Search.aspx

    which is nothing more than the search page on MySpace. How can my log be reporting a link from there when there is no content on that URL?

    [Moderated: We Hate Spam Links!]

  2. whooami
    Member
    Posted 5 years ago #

    http://sads.myspace.com//Modules/Search/Pages/Search.aspx is a perfectly legit url. believe it or not, its not unusual for there to not be a query sent via a search page.

    the top three are referer spam, and since they are, it would be nice if a mod broke the links - no sense in providing them any more recognition.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic

Tags