Ready to get started?Download WordPress


Someone is using my wordpress site to send spam (3 posts)

  1. ypanet
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Someone is using my wordpress blog (www.occasionalrant.com) to send spam. I am using a mail-in plugin called "mailpress", and I keep getting emails like the one pasted below.

    Thanks for helping.


    Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:


    Technical details of permanent failure:
    Google tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the server for the recipient domain yahoo.com by mta7.am0.yahoodns.net. [].

    The error that the other server returned was:
    554 delivery error: dd Sorry your message to dogkill@yahoo.com cannot be delivered. This account has been disabled or discontinued [#102]. - mta1592.mail.gq1.yahoo.com

    ----- Original message -----

    X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed;
    d=google.com; s=20120113;
    X-Received: by with SMTP id j59mr9461815yhf.204.1372511964921;
    Sat, 29 Jun 2013 06:19:24 -0700 (PDT)
    Return-Path: <yair@orionmms.com>
    Received: from http://www.occasionalrant.com (gator1778.hostgator.com. [])
    by mx.google.com with ESMTPSA id m63sm9746768yhb.10.2013.
    for <dogkill@yahoo.com>
    (version=TLSv1 cipher=RC4-SHA bits=128/128);
    Sat, 29 Jun 2013 06:19:24 -0700 (PDT)
    Message-ID: <1372511962.51cededa30437@www.occasionalrant.com>
    Date: Sat, 29 Jun 2013 13:19:22 +0000
    Subject: [Occasional Rant] Waiting for : dogkill@yahoo.com
    From: Occasional Rant <yair@orionmms.com>
    To: Autumn <dogkill@yahoo.com>
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
    X-Gm-Message-State: ALoCoQlr8vzX70iwKqWRSoDidmTBo0Od1mbd7HnZJJs1q7YeGTYGR2ukns8AR6yzLR8ZmWz8bwY7

    Occasional Rant
    Blog by Yair Panet

    * ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ *
    ! Email validation !
    * ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ *
    June 29, 2013

    Please confirm your email address : http://www.occasionalrant.com/wp-content/plugins/mailpress/mp-includes/action.php?action=mail_link&add=620f6e557460620af66281b880ed38b2

    this mail is brought to you by MailPress

  2. Emil Uzelac
    Theme Review Admin
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Contact your host and see what's happening :)

  3. essaysnark
    Posted 1 year ago #

    That doesn't look like spam; that looks like the plugin's opt-in confirmation message. I just clicked on http://www.occasionalrant.com/wp-content/plugins/mailpress/mp-includes/action.php?action=mail_link&add=620f6e557460620af66281b880ed38b2 and it displayed a message:

    Subscription confirmed

    dogkill@yahoo.com has successfully subscribed.

    Manage Subscription

    It looks to me like people are signing up for your newsletter with bad email addresses and they're getting bounced.

    Also that's a horrid email address - it's probably a spammer trying to get access to your site, not a spammer sending email through your site.

    (You should delete dogkill@yahoo.com from your mailing DB since I just confirmed it and obviously that is not me.)

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic