Forums

[closed] Share This question: alexking.org in the code (20 posts)

  1. greyisgood
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    I'm fine with the plugin, have it working on several blog. Was just checking thought the plug-in php, and it's littered with alexking.org. The code is too complex for me, can someone confirm this isn't sending all the info to alexking.org

  2. MichaelH
    Volunteer
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Alex is a long time WordPress contributor. It might be worth asking him that question also.

  3. SenseiAntonio
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Actually, I don't think so. That sort of code is also found on many themes and plugins, and most of the times is purely an identifier.

    Besides, putting only "alexking.org" on the plugin would do nothing at all, since it doesn't have the appropriate form to send any kind of information.

  4. moshu
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    It would be nice to document before posting nonsense...
    Learn about the localization of plugins. The plugin is i18n ready. This line tells it all:

    if (function_exists('load_plugin_textdomain')) {
    	load_plugin_textdomain('alexking.org');
  5. greyisgood
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    'alexking.org' appears 30 times, and is at the end of each output line.

  6. SenseiAntonio
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Moshu, I was trying to research a bit, but couldn't find how to apply the definition for i18n in a wordpress plugin. How would it affect the plugin's performance?

  7. moshu
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

  8. greyisgood
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    so it has a logical answer; thanks. (so it was a reasonable question - not everyone dreams in php you know).

  9. Ivovic
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    yeah, but there are ways to ask without plastering the word spyware next to the guy's domain name.

  10. Jeremy Clark
    Moderator
    Posted 4 years ago #

    I for one say a mod needs to change the title of this post removing the spyware stigma.

  11. SenseiAntonio
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    greyisgood is right, it is a reasonable question because not everyone is instructed in the arts of PHP. However, Ivovic, I totally agree with you, since spyware is something so present (and fatal) nowadays, we have to be careful on how and where we use that word, and be careful before even suggesting it could be spyware.

  12. SenseiAntonio
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Yes, jeremyclark13, I think that would be a good decision. Any mod willing to do it? :-)

  13. Adam Brown
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Agreed about need for title change.

    adding modlook tag to get mod's attention.

  14. moshu
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    [Changed the title, although I still think it was reflecting the topic starter's ignorance... and not the quality of Alex's plugin!]

  15. unclefecker
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    I'm one of those who don’t dream in php. Can someone once again explain in a language that a regular person would understand (and without resorting to calling my question “nonsense”):

    - what is the purpose of alexking.org links within the script?

    - would the functionality of the script suffer if I removed all alexking.org references (or replaced them with let's say ibangparishiltonwhenbritneyspearsisnotaround.com)?

    Thanks...

  16. Ivovic
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    1) they're not links.

    2) there needs to be a label in place and it needs to be unique. A good way to ensure that it's unique is to use something nobody else will think of using - your own domain name.

    Since no two people can register the same domain, it's as good a choice as any.

    3) If you're still uncomfortable, with all these people in this thread telling you that it's NOT god damned links, and that nobody who visits your site will ever get to see inside that script (try it, put the URL in your browser)... if all that isn't enough, then maybe you're just too suspicious to use this plugin.

    There's nothing wrong with that, suspicion is normal, but then you really should just be able to let go, and not use it instead of flogging a dead horse.

  17. unclefecker
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Well, thanks Ivovic for such exhaustive answer. I expected an anger filled response and you didn't disappoint. Do they call you Mr. predictable at home? You truly deliver, man.

    It's funny you should say that people who have questions are beating a dead horse. It's you who sets up a strawman argument based on misrepresentation of question to deliberately put a person asking in a position that is easy to mock. Ad mock you do with pleasure.

    If this is all you can do, if you can't provide reasonable answer (obviously you can't - look at your response to question #1) then why don't you just back off and allow people who are not so self absorbed to answer instead. I'm not here asking questions because I want to kill some time. I'm asking because there is something that is puzzling me and I would really like to know the answer. If you have no decency to provide that answer, then please keep out.

    BTW - you can't even brownnose properly!

  18. Ivovic
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Mate, your original question was filled with sarcasm and idiotic attempts at being cute... don't be surprised if you get a response in kind.

    The answers to your questions have been posted a number of times ALREADY in this thread. The fact that you're asking them again shows that you REALLY don't like reading.

    You made that obvious, so where's the motivation to actually write something you won't read anyway?

    Why on earth would anyone waste time forming a more detailed response when its CLEAR that you have not read anything posted here previously.

    My answers were on point. I'm not sure what else you want, but if you're looking for someone to impart a couple of years of experience on you in two paragraphs then you're going to be bitterly disappointed.

    At some point, if you can't KNOW, you must TRUST... and if you can't trust then you MUST READ. You have no business diving into an area you REFUSE to read about.

    ... and btw, the decency you ask for... this was it. Insult me that way again and you'll see the difference.

  19. Root
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Well Alex King is no slouch at keeping track of who does what. A degree of circumspection prior to installing his plugins is only prudent.

  20. moshu
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    I will tell it again:
    The plugin's "textdomain" (see Ryan's post about localization linked above) is "alexking.org". That's an arbitrary name and NOT a URI. It could have been moshu or greyisgood or Root.

    And it will appear as many times as many strings has to be translated via a po/mo file using the gettext technology that is also used to translate WP's main interface. If there are 125 strings to translate - there will be 125 occurrences...

    If you don't know what i18n and l10n and gettext mean... then, please, get out of your North-American ethnocentrist monolinguistic comfort and learn!

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic