WordPress.org

Ready to get started?Download WordPress

Forums

Problem with uploading ANYTHING to WP dashboard (23 posts)

  1. CaptainVimes
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    When I try to upload something to the WP Dashboard, or sometimes when I try to save something, on clicking "upload" or "save" it redirects me to the wrong "address" in fact, it's not even a web address?

    See the image below to show you what it does to the address:

    <img src="http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/Beowulf1976/TAMEDNATURE/wperror.png">

    (EDIT - HTML NOT WORKING...)

    (if that didn't work then it's http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/Beowulf1976/TAMEDNATURE/wperror.png )

    my full address for the WP site is http://www.tamednature.com/forum

    I don't know whether it is the way I installed it, (using my Control Panel and the Softaculous App Installer) or some other bug in the installation, but I would really like to be able to fix it. :-(

    Please bear in mind that I am really quite THICK when it comes to the internet and stuff. I have NO idea what I'm doing with regards to internet language, I had to give up with Joomla, and install WP because I had no idea how to use their "backend" (?is that the right word? lol)

    I look forward to your responses :-)

  2. kmessinger
    Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Go to dashboard, settings, media, Store uploads in this folder and make sure it is blank or if it has wp-content/uploads there is no / in front of wp-content.

  3. CaptainVimes
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Just did as you said, but I cannot "save changes"..

    because it does what I mentioned earlier..

    I should have added that it did this upon saving changes as well as uploading images :-(

    my full screen just after I clicked on "save changes":

    http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/Beowulf1976/TAMEDNATURE/wperrorfullscreen.png

    I get it whenever I try and save changes, regardless of which section of the WP-admin application I am in. :-(

  4. kmessinger
    Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 2 years ago #

    That image is quite a bit different than the first one. Do you have a .htaccess file? Could you post that here?

  5. CaptainVimes
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    the .htaccess file in my www location (CP file manager /home/ukrac/www) is as follows:

    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^tamednature\.com$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.tamednature\.com$
    RewriteRule ^/?$ "http\:\/\/www\.tamednature\.com\/forum" [R=301,L]

    the .htaccess file in my "home" directory,(CP file manager /home/ukrac) is as follows:

    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.$
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.ukrabbitsandcavies.info/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=52&Itemid=63 [R=301,L]

    ukrac/ukrabbitsandcavies.info was our old domain, we have since changed to http://www.tamednature.com

    WordPress sits at http://www.tamednature.com/forum

    I have a redirect from http://www.tamednature.com to http://www.tamednature.com/forum (maybe this is causing problems?)

    As I said previously, I'm thick so please be gentle with me heheh

    **EDIT. We no longer own the domain ukrabbitsandcavies.info, so if there is anything linking to, or from that, I need to remove it, but I don't know what I'm doing really.

  6. kmessinger
    Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Try this as the htacess file which should be in the same directory where wp is installed.

    # BEGIN WordPress
    <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteBase /
    RewriteRule ^index\.php$ - [L]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
    RewriteRule . /index.php [L]
    </IfModule>
    
    # END WordPress
  7. CaptainVimes
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Thank you so much, that SEEMS to have resolved it. I will just double check by going into different sections and "saving changes", if the error isn't replicated I will come back and mark this topic as resolved.

    Thank you kmessinger you are an absolute star and I am exceptionally grateful to you! :-)

  8. CaptainVimes
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Hmm.. strange..

    I just went in to edit the settings on one of my plugins..

    This is the screen I got when I clicked on "update settings"

    http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/Beowulf1976/TAMEDNATURE/automoreupdatedfault.png

    I have actually deactivated the "auto-more" plugin because it was putting a "more" code immediately after the first word on my pages and I couldn't alter it in the settings.

    I haven't checked whether there are still other pages on my forum that require alteration, or that are causing the fault.

    **EDIT**

    Trying to update the settings on WP admin...

    http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/Beowulf1976/TAMEDNATURE/settingsupdatedfault.png

  9. kmessinger
    Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Time I think for some basic debug. Using ftp or by logging into your hosted account and using the file manager, try the normal debug.
    - deactivating all plugins (yes, all) to see if this resolves the problem. If this works, re-activate the plugins one by one until you find the problematic plugin(s). Also remember to deactivate any plugins in the mu-plugins folder if you have one. The easiest way is to rename that folder to mu-plugins-old.

    - switching to the Twenty Eleven theme to rule out any theme-specific problems. If you can't log in to change themes, you can remove the theme folders via FTP so the only one is twentyeleven. That will force your site to use it.

  10. CaptainVimes
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    If I switch the theme will I use all formatting and settings on my current theme?

    All plug-ins deactivated and it made no difference.

  11. kmessinger
    Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 2 years ago #

    A properly written theme should not loose settings but check something else first.

    Using mysql or what ever your host has check the database. There should be a switch to check or repair the tables.

  12. CaptainVimes
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    I checked the WP database and it said everything was OK, however when I tried to REPAIR the database, I got this:

    http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/Beowulf1976/TAMEDNATURE/mysqldatabaserepairerror.png

    I will now give you a quick run down of what happened prior to me installing wordpress.

    I used to run a forum on my host. They got hacked through a security loop and everything on their servers was deleted.

    This was the beginning of December, and they STILL haven't got themselves back up and running properly, they told me they are in the middle of merging with a bigger company.

    My entire 2 year old forum disappeared, I lost everything, they even lost all records of invoices and everything, so they put all their customers on free hosting plans whilst they sort out the complete mess.

    We found files in my CP that had "hacked by blah blah" on them, my Fiance said that there were many files that were crucial to a web site to run, but they had all been hacked.

    My Fiance suggested that we delete absolutely everything, apart from the file structure on the server. So we did.

    I then installed WordPress using the CPanel's "Softaculous App Installer". Prior to this I had installed JOOMLA, but Joomla was far too clever and technical for me to even understand, so I looked for something more simple (or so I thought!) so I installed WordPress, knowing that I had played around with the software before on their own host.

    So, if there were any basic files that should have been on my WWW directory when I installed wordpress, there wasn't for me, because we had to delete everything as we didn't know what had been edited by the hacker.

  13. kmessinger
    Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 2 years ago #

    I am surprised you are still hanging around and haven't sworn off computers completely. Time to start all over and as I understand all that is lost is a lot of your time.

    Whether you stay with the same host or not - and I can't think of any reason, even if they payed me to stay with them, the actions are the same. You are going to install wp not from a script but in the what I call normal way.

    Root directory - at this stage should have and only need one directory. It may be called different things like public_html, etc. The permissions should be 755.

    Download a new copy of wordpress, unzip it on your computer and ftp all the files. Use filezilla or fireftp. After ftp, check the log for problems.

    Follow directions here, http://codex.wordpress.org/Installing_WordPress

    WordPress is easy to install. You need to know what directories and files are and how to ftp - you know that. There are, as I understand it, millions of sites running wp. It should and 99% of the time does work right out of the box.

    Lastly and I know you have heard this before, 1.) backup and 2.) trust no one. I have backups on my computer, files, db, the works and in the cloud and at the host. They are a good host but #2 above applies.

  14. CaptainVimes
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    This is what the permissions look like in my "Forum" folder.

    /public_html/forum/wp-admin = 0755
    /public_html/forum/wp=content = 0755
    /public_html/forum/wp-includes = 0755
    /public_html/forum/.htaccess = 0755
    /public_html/forum/error_log = 0644
    /public_html/forum/index.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/license.txt = 0644
    /public_html/forum/readme.html = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-activate.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-app.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-blog-header.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-comments-post.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-config-sample.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-config.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-cron.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-links-opmi.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-load.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-login.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-mail.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-pass.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-register.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-settings.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-signup.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/wp-trackback.php = 0644
    /public_html/forum/xmlrpc.php = 0644

    I'm afraid I'm NOT going to do what you told me to do, I'm NOT going to change hosts just because they got hacked, it was probably my original forum that caused the security hole anyway, as for starting again, you wouldn't want to wipe everything either if you had spent DAYS working on it.

    I am sending a support ticket in with my host to see if it's something that they can help me fix, if they can't then I'll just have to tolerate the false redirects when doing things. SOME of the time, WordPress actually implements the changes I request of it, even though it re-directs me to these "false" pages.

    The only thing I CANNOT do, (as far as I know, there may be other areas where I am having problems too) is alter anything in the http://tamednature.com//forum/wp-admin/options directory. (which basically means everything in the settings section, if I do I get: http://forum/wp-admin/options-discussion.php?settings-updated=true obviously tamednature.com is missing out of that directory, which is why it is showing me a "server not found" message.

    Thanks for your "help".

  15. CaptainVimes
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Couldn't edit my original post, but I DID back up regularly when I was on my laptop and able to back up. Between May and This year I have been at my worst so wasn't able to use my laptop as I've not devised a way of using it when I'm flat on my back yet, and I didn't think my mobile phone would do the backup of the database and /home directory for me... hence no back-up to load up and carry on from where we were hacked.

    Under normal circumstances, I back up my online "stuff" every single day.. but I haven't found how to back it up when I can't sign in on my laptop...

    I guess I should have a back-up administrator for such things, but I cannot find an option to create another user in my CPanel, and I'm not giving ANYONE full ultimate administrator access, (apart from the chap I have trusted to use it, so he could fix his plug-in on my wordpress site) so they can easily delete a whole bundle of files.

  16. kmessinger
    Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Your .htacess file should be 644.

    This was the beginning of December, and they STILL haven't got themselves back up and running properly

    This is what is unforgivable from a hosting company.

    You can always try deleting the wp-admin and wp-includes folders. DO NOT touch the wp-content folder. Download a fresh copy of wordpress. Extract the files and upload the files/directories you deleted.

    This will not damage any data as it is on the database.

  17. CaptainVimes
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    thank you, I will try what you said. :-)

  18. CaptainVimes
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

  19. CaptainVimes
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    ouch. In the middle of restoring from yesterday's homedirectory and database backup. Deleted those folders, as you suggested, then found that FILEZILLA would NOT FTP the files for me. Every single one came back with an error.

    http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/Beowulf1976/TAMEDNATURE/criticalfiletransferrorblackedoutinfo.png

    Got annoyed, erased the whole contents of public_html/forum now waiting for the backup to sort itself out, and hopefully put things back where they should be.

    Why didn't I just MOVE AND RENAME those damn folders?! Because I didn't think about it, until it was too late :-(

    I'm REALLY not having much luck with my webspace with my host. I'm now considering moving my domain to another host....

    Backup not working, now putting a support ticket in with my host, to see if they can sort the flipping thing out, because I've had enough now. :-(

  20. kmessinger
    Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 2 years ago #

    what do I do about the "loose files" that are not in those directories?

    Leave them alone.

    FILEZILLA would NOT FTP the files for me

    There is no reason, if the settings are correcct, that filezilla would not work. http://codex.wordpress.org/Using_FileZilla

  21. CaptainVimes
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Hi there,

    The FTP account that I was trying to use to upload the files was faulty.

    I am now waiting for my host to get back to me with regard to sorting out my back up restoration of my database, I have managed to restore all the files that were required for the restoration of my webspace, but I have no idea where the database is supposed to go, so I couldn't just upload that anyway.

    I have created a temporary index.html on my site where wordpress once sat, to direct traffic to my new forum on a separate host.

    I will come and post again once my site is back online.

    best wishes

    CV

  22. CaptainVimes
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    I'm definitely looking for a new host.
    My host has not helped me ONCE with my problems that I have had.
    I ended up enlisting the help of the wonderful chap who owns the google maps plug-in.

    He rebuilt my entire site for me and got it working, removing that silly redirect. I am forever in debt to him.

    Thanks for your assistance this end, I am now going to look at other hosting options.

    Best wishes

    CV

  23. kmessinger
    Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Hooray! Cheers.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic