WordPress.org

Ready to get started?Download WordPress

Forums

Contact Form 7
File uploads no longer working after plugin update (23 posts)

  1. Andy Evans
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Hi,

    I've just updated Contact form 7 and Contact Form 7 Database Extension plugins to latest version and now file uploads have stopped working; The upload fields are showing and and seem to function on the form, but any submissions are not showing up and are not getting put into the database. Any ideas why not?

    Since the update I was also getting a load of junk fields being put into the database, but I've sorted that after reading a post on http://cfdbplugin.com/ - Avoiding “_wpcf7″ Fields.

    Thanks,
    Andy

    http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/contact-form-7/

  2. mconheady
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    same issue with me. File uploads broke. The status icon just keeps twirling. Though sometimes the mail goes through, the user just sees the status icon twirling.

  3. Andy Evans
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    I've spent hours trying to sort this without success. Is there a way to go back to previous versions of CF7 and CF7 Database Extension as I really need file upload capability?

  4. Takayuki Miyoshi
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 2 years ago #

    http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/contact-form-7/
    http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/contact-form-7-to-database-extension/

    There is "Other Versions" link in the right sidebar of each plugin pages. You can download older versions there.

  5. Michael Simpson
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    To ignore _wpcf7* fields see http://cfdbplugin.com/?p=662

  6. Andy Evans
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Thanks for the reply Michael, but if you read my original post you'll see I've already taken care of the _wpfc7* fields issue and included a link to the same post you link to above.

    The major problem that still exists, as per the title of my original post, is that file uploads do not work after installing the latest plugin updates to CF7 and CF7 Database Extension. Do you have any advice to offer on this specific issue?

    At the moment It looks to me like my only option is to reinstall the previous versions of both plugins as that worked fine on my site previously.

  7. albertocm
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Same problem here.
    Forms with file uploads didn't work after CF7 last update.

    I detected that forms works if I'm logued in, but if I'm not, It crashes!

  8. Andy Evans
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    I've just downgraded to version 3.0.2.1 of CF7 plugin and file uploads now work again in that they are getting captured in the database via CF7 Database Extension. Note that I didn't need to downgrade the CF7 Database Extension plugin, just CF7.

  9. Andy Evans
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    By the way, WARNING, to be able to downgrade you have to delete the existing plugin and this will delete any forms you have created. To make this as painless as possible I just opened a window for each form with each form open in the admin screen. I then did the delete and upload of the CF7 plugin and then simply used cut and paste to recreate each form. One last thing, you will also need to change the shortcode inserted into your posts / pages as the shortcode will have changed.

  10. ccggrower1
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    I have been frustrated by this same issue for days. However, it seems to work better on my local host than the live site. I get error messages when forms are incomplete instead of just the spinning arrow when submit is clicked on my local host. On the live site, the arrow spins endlessly no matter what is put on a form if it has a photo upload component. As I am a mere WordPress novice, I guess I will just try to downgrade CF7 to 3.02.1 as well. Can anyone point to simple directions for how to do it manually?

  11. tommcgee
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Any chance of an update to fix this problem? I get the files as attachments in the emails, but the fields in the database are blank.

  12. Michael Simpson
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    I haven't had time to look into this yet. Hopefully I can look at it from the contact-form-7-to-database-extension side this weekend.

  13. ccggrower1
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Looks like the latest upgrade of Contact Form 7.3.1.1 today fixed my problems for the photo upload issues and confirmations/errors messages are now working. Many thanks!!

  14. Takayuki Miyoshi
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 2 years ago #

    As far as I know, the latest update of Contact Form 7 (v3.1.1) doesn't have any fix relating to this issue.

  15. jackofalltrades999
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Yes...definitely problem with Contact Form 7 (v3.1.1)....

    uploads not reflecting in database extension plugin..

  16. tommcgee
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Any word on this? I'm about to look really foolish when this doesn't work.

  17. doctorcilantro
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Same here, this is killing me, and I may have to roll back but dreading that as I am pressed for time.

  18. doctorcilantro
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Strange thing is that I didn't even have the tag in the Attachment field yesterday, and would just get empty email.

    Now using the tag in the right place I get an error:

    "Failed to send your message. Please try later or contact the administrator by another method."

  19. Michael Simpson
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    I put in a fix for the missing uploaded files in Version 2.2.7

  20. doctorcilantro
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Version 2.2.7?

    I'm confused. I should roll back?

    Thanks
    J

  21. Michael Simpson
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    No, this is the latest version of contact-form-7-to-database-extension that I just pushed out. Not to be confused with CF7 itself which is version 3.1.1

  22. falsebehavinganimals
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Hi,

    Great plugin, just testing it for the first time. I have managed to upload files and have them displayed on a page. The only thing is the link to the uploaded file doesnt work.

    You can see it here:

    http://bys.phpfogapp.com/?page_id=7

    If anyone has an idea why the file link is incorrect I would love to hear it.

  23. notdodgy
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Just installed the database plug in and files are being uploaded ok and the link is there when viewing a form submission.

    The email that is sent does not include the uploaded file.

    So fixed if you use the database plug in but not if using email.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Plugin

About this Topic