dudewalker
Member
Posted 6 months ago #
I received this email about 2:20am 11/15/2011.
Can anyone verify who the "respond to" is or where they are located?
Someone requested that the password be reset for the following account:
https://wordpress.com/
Username: dudewalker
If this was a mistake, just ignore this email and nothing will happen.
To reset your password, visit the following address:
<https://wordpress.com/wp-login.php?action=rp&key=tvyf2ayNTHDT6K2ltbsm&login=dudewalker
>
We have no access to your self-hosted site. Start by checking your users via Admin -> Users.
dudewalker
Member
Posted 6 months ago #
esmi,
Thank you for your reply.
To restate my question better, is the address to reset the password originating from within my site...or is it a redirect?
The email I received appeared to come from wordpress.
From : "WordPress.com" <donotreply@wordpress.com>
Is this a wordpress.com site or a self-hosted WordPress install?
dudewalker
Member
Posted 6 months ago #
Did you own a wordpress.com site at some point?
dudewalker
Member
Posted 6 months ago #
Not that I am aware of.
My site was hosted on hostgator from the beginning.
Aside from being registered into this forum, I have no other connections to wordpress.com
Thinking back, I did registered to discuss an issues years ago on the wordpress.com forum...but was "PROMPTLY" told to take my problem elsewhere since I was self hosting.
dudewalker
Member
Posted 6 months ago #
To correct my last statement,
Aside from being registered into this forum, I have no other connections to "wordpress".
Then I'm rather stumped as to why you should receive an email that appears to relate to a wordpress.com site. All I can say is that you safely ignore it as spam.
dudewalker
Member
Posted 6 months ago #
esmi, thanks for your input.