WordPress.org

Ready to get started?Download WordPress

Forums

EWWW Image Optimizer
[resolved] NextGen 2 image uploads seem to not auto-optimize (27 posts)

  1. onerock
    Member
    Posted 8 months ago #

    Hello, I am trying to track down what appears to be an issue when images are uploaded through NextGen version 2.0.37. I have not been able to figure out which version of NextGen 2 or EWWW that this issue started with.

    It appears that images and thumbnails are not being optimized automatically. To test, I created a fresh gallery and uploaded several images. I immediately bulk optimized the new gallery with freshly installed images found that every image and thumbnail was being optimized.

    Debug Log

    Can you please assist me in trying to figure out what the issue may be?

    Thanks for your help
    Scott

    http://wordpress.org/plugins/ewww-image-optimizer/

  2. nosilver4u
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 8 months ago #

    You're uploading with nextgen 2.0.37? Where did you get that? The latest official release is 2.0.33

    That aside, your debug log looks totally normal, so I'm not sure what is happening on your install. I just double-checked my test site and everything works properly on upload. Are you using the html5 uploader? If you hover over the upload box, it will usually tell you if it is html5. Not sure why you wouldn't be using it, unless you have a really old browser like IE8.

  3. onerock
    Member
    Posted 8 months ago #

    Thanks for the reply.

    It is the version that NextGen had me upgrade to in hopes to fix a thumbnail update issue I am having. It didn't help and the edited thumbnail doesn't show. I am assuming that they will be pushing it out soon.

    Yes, I am using the html5 uploader.

  4. nosilver4u
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 8 months ago #

    And just to make sure, when you say that 'every image and thumbnail was being optimized' after a fresh upload, you mean that it actually reported savings when you bulk optimized the new gallery, right?

  5. onerock
    Member
    Posted 8 months ago #

    Yes, sorry for the confusion.

  6. nosilver4u
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 8 months ago #

    Do you have any other nextgen plugins you are using?

    Also, do you have a link where I can grab the beta version of nextgen that you are using? If not, please send it to me via this form: http://www.shanebishop.net/contact-me/

  7. onerock
    Member
    Posted 8 months ago #

    I have 2 other NextGen Plugins activated.

    A modified version of Nextgen Search Engine by Alex Rabe
    -this plugin allows integration of image search to the standard WordPress search

    A modified version of Nextgen Gallery Search
    -this plugin allows site admins to search for a gallery name to edit.

    The modifications are to allow them to work with NextGen2.x
    I can get you copies of these if you need them

    Here is the public NextGen beta page
    http://www.nextgen-gallery.com/nextgen-gallery-latest-beta/

    Thanks so much for your help

  8. nosilver4u
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 8 months ago #

    Yes, if you could send me those plugins, I would appreciate it. Seems unlikely that either of them would cause a conflict, but you never know...

  9. nosilver4u
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 8 months ago #

    one more question in the meantime:

    What does the image status in the new gallery say (before bulk optimizing) ?

    Is it 'not processed', or something else?

  10. onerock
    Member
    Posted 8 months ago #

    The images status is as follows.

    Not processed
    Image Size: 194.75 kB
    Optimize now!

    In regard to getting you copies of the 2 modified plugins, I do not have a standard packaged plugin. Can I just zip up the plugin folder and send that to you?

    If so here they are.
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/95272767/Modified%20Plugins.zip

    Thanks Scott

  11. nosilver4u
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 8 months ago #

    Ok, so that seems to indicate that the hook is not firing at all. If it fired, and the tools were malfunctioning or something else was going wrong , we would see No Savings. Hmmm, I'll grab those plugins and see what I can come up with.

  12. nosilver4u
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 8 months ago #

    No luck reproducing this with any of those plugins or the beta version of NextGEN...

    1. If you go to the Media Library->Add New and upload a few images there, do they get auto-optimized?

    2. Can you download the 'dev' version of EWWW IO and paste an updated version of the debug log from the settings page?

    http://downloads.wordpress.org/plugin/ewww-image-optimizer.zip

  13. onerock
    Member
    Posted 8 months ago #

    Bummer, thanks for trying.

    I have verified that uploading images to the media library do auto-optimize.

    I removed and re-installed the dev version of EWWW. Here is the New Debug Log

  14. nosilver4u
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 8 months ago #

    Ok, we've eliminated a couple possibilities:
    1. The optimization tools are working fine.
    2. The nextgen version is being detected correctly, so the proper nextgen integration class should be loaded.

    There is still the issue of why the optimization isn't firing on upload. I'll have to do some more thinking on that, and see if I can think of anything else.

  15. nosilver4u
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 8 months ago #

    Ok, one more thing you can check:
    1. remove the debug.log file from the ewww-image-optimizer folder.
    2. upload some images to nextgen
    3. see if there is anything in the debug.log afterwards.

  16. onerock
    Member
    Posted 8 months ago #

    Sorry I do not see that file in the ewww-image-optimizer folder under plugins. Is it stored elsewhere?

  17. nosilver4u
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 8 months ago #

    No, that's where it belongs. Seems strange that it never exists when it would be most useful.
    See if it makes any difference if you create an empty file named debug.log in that folder and then upload some images.

  18. onerock
    Member
    Posted 8 months ago #

    It did not. The file remains at a file sixe of zero.

    Created debug.log in the root folder of EWWW Image Optimizer in the plugins folder

  19. nosilver4u
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 8 months ago #

    And I assume the web user has permissions to write to the ewww-image-optimizer folder?

  20. onerock
    Member
    Posted 8 months ago #

    Yes, the user/group owner has permissions 755 to the folder. This is the same for all other folders in the plugin directory.

  21. onerock
    Member
    Posted 8 months ago #

    I wanted to let you know that I have updated NextGen Gallery to the latest build 2.0.40. This has had no effect on the auto-optimize issue that I am facing.

    Thanks for your continued help with this issue I am facing.
    Scott

  22. nosilver4u
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 8 months ago #

    Do you have any other plugins enabled besides the nextgen plugins? Trying to find a culprit here, since stock nextgen doesn't seem to be the issue.

  23. onerock
    Member
    Posted 8 months ago #

    You beat me to it. I was thinking earlier after upgrading NextGen that I was going to go through the exercise of disabling everything except the essentials.

    I will give you an update soon.

  24. onerock
    Member
    Posted 8 months ago #

    I got lucky... The first plugin I disabled was Plugin Organizer . All images that are uploaded now are auto-optimized.

    Thanks for the guidance and great support of your plugin!
    Scott

  25. nosilver4u
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 8 months ago #

    Yahoo! Thanks for letting me know the culprit too. I'll see if I can find out why that plugin is interfering with things so others don't have this issue in the future (and so you can re-enable it down the road).

  26. nosilver4u
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 8 months ago #

    Doesn't look like the plugin interferes by default, but there are definitely settings on there that would disable the auto-optimizer, and it looks like that is the whole point of the plugin (to keep plugins from running unnecessarily). You just have to be careful what settings you have for Plugin Optimizer and make sure you allow EWWW IO for nextgen images/galleries (if using selective loading or something like that).

  27. onerock
    Member
    Posted 8 months ago #

    Thanks for your research. I will have to do some further investigation on this plugin and why it was causing me issues. I was only using it to disable one plugin, not EWWW, that I only wanted to be rendered on specific gallery pages.

    Thanks again for all your help!

Reply

You must log in to post.

About this Plugin

About this Topic