WordPress.org

Ready to get started?Download WordPress

Forums

Media Library Assistant
[resolved] Native WP Media Manager search doesn't work for me (9 posts)

  1. webbistro
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Hello David,

    First, thank you, very useful plugin, but unfortunately I have an issue with it. When I am turning off "Media Manager Enhanced Search Media box", the search stops working. That is, I can see native WP search field in the Media Manager window, but it simply does not work (shows all the attachments as a result).

    I tried it with 2 different sites, one of them is pure WP 3.5.2 + your plugin v1.41. Please help.

    Best regards,
    Nadia

    http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/media-library-assistant/

  2. David Lingren
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    Nadia,

    Thank you for your interest in the plugin and for reporting this issue. I have reproduced your problem; you have found a defect in the plugin.

    Until I can release a fix, you have two choices:

    1. Go to the Settings/Media Library Assistant screen, General tab and clear the "Enable Media Manager Enhancements" checkbox. That will remove all the MLA code from the Media Manager and restore the default search box.
    2. Re-enable the Media Manager "Enhanced Search Media box".

    You don't say why you have disabled the enhanced search box in the first place. Did you have a problem with it? As the name implies, it should work as well as the default search box with the additional ability to search more fields in the media items.

    I will be traveling and away from my development system until July 18, so I won't be able to fix this bug quickly. I will post an update here as soon as I have progress to report. If there's anything else I need to do regarding the enhanced search feature, please let me know.

    Thank you for reporting this defect, for your understanding and your patience.

  3. webbistro
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Thank you, David! This temporary solution works well for me.

    No, I didn't have any problem with your enhanced search. I just find its implementation too hard to understand for not advanced user. So far it has all the traits of programmer's way of thinking. Too complex system of filters will confuse an ordinary user.

    Let me know if you are interested in it, I have some UX thoughts about your plugin, I've implemented them partly in its code experimenting with it. Works well for me. But I don't have enough skills and time to rewrite it more cardinally.

    Nadia

  4. David Lingren
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    Thank you for giving me the reasoning for disabling the advanced search. You could just tell your users to ignore the extra options and type away as usual, but I take your point. I'll fix my bug so you can use either search box.

    I am always happy to consider ideas for improving the plugin; user feedback is a significant source of input for new releases. If you'd like to send code samples or more detailed notes to me directly, send me your e-mail address using the "Contact Us" page at our web site:

    Fair Trade Judaica/Contact Us

    I will reply with an address where you can reach me. Thanks for your interest and your patience.

  5. webbistro
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    David,

    Unfortunately, when writing response I didn't notice that disabling "Media Manager Enhancements" I disable also categories drop down.

    So until you fix this I just made some CSS changes to make plugin Search Input looks like the native one.

    I'll send all the information I have to you with detailed description. Thank you for the quick response.

    Nadia

  6. David Lingren
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    Thanks for this update - I'm glad you found an effective (and creative) way to keep the enhancements you want and hide the complexity you do not want.

    I look forward to more details.

  7. David Lingren
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    I have released version 1.42, which corrects the defect in handling the native search box if the MLA enhanced search box is disabled.

    When you've updated to the new release, give it a try and let me know if you have any problems or further questions.

    Thanks again for bringing this to my attention and for your interest in the plugin.

  8. webbistro
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Thank you David, it works. I am enjoying my summer a bit as well :), but I remember I owe you my feedback :). Coming soon.

  9. David Lingren
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 10 months ago #

    I have released version 1.50, which includes the ability to customize the name, label and title of the Media/Assistant submenu screen. You can also remove the default Media/Library submenu screen.

    Please let me know if you have any problems with or further questions about this new feature. Thanks again for your interest and for your suggestion.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Plugin

About this Topic

Tags

No tags yet.