WordPress.org

Ready to get started?Download WordPress

Forums

Google Language Translator
[resolved] Just Updated to 2.4 and Not Working (35 posts)

  1. Lady M
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    The previous version was working great and then I upgraded to 2.4 this morning 9/9/13 and the plugin disappeared. I get this... Warning: Illegal string offset 'googlelanguagetranslator_active' in /misc/26/000/098/274/6/user/web/name-of-my-website.com/wp-content/plugins/google-language-translator/google-language-translator.php on line 263. I really appreciate this plugin so could you please let me know what to do to fix it? Thank you!

    http://wordpress.org/plugins/google-language-translator/

  2. joernemann
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    I have exactly the same problem. Before I had version 2.2 running and it worked great. But when I updaded it to 2.3 or 2.4 I get the same message like Lady M. Please tell me what I can do to fix it!Thanks.

  3. Rob Myrick
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 10 months ago #

    Hi everyone, please makes sure that all of your options are selected in the settings panel. I added a couple of new options that need to be selected, and if not selected, the plugin will disable.

    I apologize for the inconvenience. Please let me know if this solves the issue.

    Thanks!

  4. Lady M
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    I checked all the options and it did show up, but it's the same one google provides. I was using yours because I could customize it so that just the flags showed up and the site changed languages without the google translate screen dropping down from the top. Your plugin allowed my site to go from one language to another seemlessly which is what was so great about it. Also, it's still displays that warning notice.

    Is it possible for you to provide two versions of this plugin? I would really like to get the previous one back.

  5. thospfuller
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    Version 2.3 was working fine however the update to 2.4 is not working for me -- the error I'm seeing is:

    Plugin could not be activated because it triggered a fatal error.

    Fatal error: Cannot redeclare page() (previously declared in /wordpress/wp-content/plugins/plugin-manager/plugin-manager.php:95) in /wordpress/wp-content/plugins/google-language-translator/google-language-translator.php on line 36

    Tom

  6. Rob Myrick
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 10 months ago #

    Hi LadyM, you can go back to the plugin page at wordpress.org, and then click "Developers" tab at top, then download a previous version of that helps.

    Also, you should be seeing the same version as previously, with even more options. Can you explain what you mean by "it's the same one Google provides".

    And I can help you further if you want me to check on your site. I would need some type of limited access. You can contact me here at http://www.studio88design.com/get-in-touch/

    Also, can you provide a link to your site, so that I can see it in action?

    Thanks, Rob

  7. joernemann
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    Ok it's working when I press the button "align the translator..." But it's saying it's just working with vertical layout but I use the horizontal layout. And there is no change on my site between vertical and horizontal!?! But well that's fine. But the message is still there. The message is at the top of the setting site. Do you think that's a problem? It's working like it was before.Thanks for the anwser.

  8. Rob Myrick
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 10 months ago #

    Hi LadyM, I found a small issue that overlooked in the plugin. Please try this, although I'm not 100% sure yet whether it solves your issue, I think it will:

    Go to Plugins and click edit under the Google Language Translator plugin. On line 263, you will see a function that looks something like this:

    function googlelanguagetranslator_active_cb() {

    Directly below that line is a line of code that looks like this:
    $html = '<input type="checkbox" name="googlelanguagetranslator_active" id="googlelanguagetranslator_active" value="1" '.checked(1,$options['googlelanguagetranslator_active'],false).'/>   Activate Google Language Translator?';

    Please change that code to this instead - let me know if that helps the issue with the error.

    $html = '<input type="checkbox" name="googlelanguagetranslator_active" id="googlelanguagetranslator_active" value="1" '.checked(1,$options,false).'/>   Activate Google Language Translator?';

  9. Lady M
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    THANK YOU so much! I tried 2.3 and still received the error message so downloaded 2.2 and it's working perfectly. Thank you again for this plugin.

    _____
    Just read your updated reply. I'll try that and get back to you.

  10. Rob Myrick
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 10 months ago #

    I'm going to make that change on my own and upgrade the plugin once again to 2.5. Sorry for the inconvenience. This most current version is re-built from my previous version, so there was destined to be some issues :)

    It would really help if you try my solution above and let me know if that fixes the issue. Otherwise, I understand if it's an inconvenience and I don't want you to waste your time.

    Thanks! Rob

  11. Lady M
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    No, not at all. I'm a freelance web designer and love tackling code so I'm happy to do it!
    _____
    UPDATE: The new code removed the error message BUT the way I have it set (all languages / yes, show flag images / no, hide language box / horizontal / no / no) still displays nothing on the site. I've used both the short code in a widget and the php code in my header page with nothing showing. When I use the same settings in your 2.2 version, it all shows up and works fine, just not in 2.4.

    If there is anything else I can do, just let me know.

  12. joernemann
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    Perfect the message is away.
    Thanks.

    @ Lady M. Try to select "Align the translator left or right?". Then it must show up.

  13. Rob Myrick
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 10 months ago #

    Awesome, yes I needed to set a default option for the Translator Alignment option, that is why it's having issues. Thanks for the feedback. I will be fixing this!

    Rob

  14. Lady M
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    Thanks @joernemann, that did it!

  15. joernemann
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    yeah :-)

  16. joernemann
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    @ rm: Maybe it's better not to write "This option is for vertical layout only" because you have to press the button that it works. And left/right is working with vertical and horizontal.

  17. Rob Myrick
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 10 months ago #

    Yes, that should not have been there :) That's what I get for rushing in the new version :)

  18. joernemann
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    perfect :-)

    Can you help me with this?
    I tried something in the php and deleted it again and now nothing is working... I did nothing on line 39.
    Parse error: syntax error, unexpected 'function' (T_FUNCTION) in /users/.../wp-content/plugins/google-language-translator/google-language-translator.php on line 39

  19. Lady M
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    I also want to add, maybe in the new version you could code the width of the flags as "optional width." I think you have it set at 150px but I didn't want a second line of flags. So rather than change your original code (which I know I would lose on upgrades), I copied your code straight from the 'view source' after adding the short code and added it to my header page.

  20. Andrewjmarino
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    Also, not showing up on my website after the upgrade this morning to 2.5. I checked the admin settings and they seem correct.
    I did switch it over to the Google Translator widget in my fourth (bottom right) area.

    Andrew

    http://www.visitbanteaychhmar.org/

  21. Rob Myrick
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 10 months ago #

    Hi Andrew, I'm going to assume you have checked the "Activate" checkbox at top, right?

    Also, can you provide the exact settings you have selected?

    Also, please make sure all settings are chosen, as it seems I've had some issues with default options showing up.

    If that doesn't work, I will have to take a look myself, but only if you want. You can contact me here if you want. http://www.studio88design.com/get-in-touch/

  22. Andrewjmarino
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    Ha, yes it's activated. I sent you a screenshot of the settings.

    Activated
    English
    Specific Languages
    Yes, show translation box
    Vertical
    Google Toolbar - Yes
    Google Branding - Yes
    Align - Left

    Again, I'm trying to use the widget in the fourth footer area.

    Andrew

    http://www.visitbanteaychhmar.org/

  23. Martin
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    Hi Rob,

    I'm running the latest version of WP and the plugin was working fine with it until I just clicked on the auto update in the dashboard. Now I'm getting this message where the translator was appearing.

    Martin

    Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/associat/public_html/wp-content/plugins/google-language-translator/google-language-translator.php on line 921

  24. Rob Myrick
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 10 months ago #

    Martin, would you try and force update your plugin once again. I've been making several changes here in the last few hours. Most current version is 2.6. Let me know if that has helped you.

    Thanks, Rob

  25. joernemann
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    2.6 works.
    And my other problem is gone too.

  26. Rob Myrick
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 10 months ago #

    This is great joernemann! Thanks for the update.

  27. Rob Myrick
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 10 months ago #

    I'm closing this for now. Everyone seems good! Please feel free to post later here if needed.

  28. graphus
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    Hello,

    I am having the same issue since I updated WordPress a few days ago. I tried use change function page as page_layout but no chance.

    Do you have any suggestions?

  29. graphus
    Member
    Posted 10 months ago #

    Hello,

    I am having the same issue since I updated WordPress a fews ago. I tried to change function page to page_layout but no chance.

    Do you have any suggestions?

  30. Rob Myrick
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 10 months ago #

    Hi graphus, are you getting an error, or is the plugin just not showing up? Can you post what error you are seeing here exactly?

    If the plugin is simply not showing, you might have a bad file. That is my fault because I had some issues when uploading the initial file to the WordPress server, and then I uploaded a new file without announcing it.

    Let's try force updating your plugin. Go to the Plugins menu and then place a check mark next to the Google Language Translator plugin. Then go back to the top of that screen and there will be a "Bulk Actions" drop down menu where you can select "update". Choose update and then click "Apply" button next to it.

    This will force update to the most current file; even though you may have version 2.6, the file may need to be updated to the most current. Please let me know if you are still getting an error, and I can look into this for you.

    Thanks!

Reply »

You must log in to post.

About this Plugin

About this Topic