Forums

[resolved] invalid markup problem (6 posts)

  1. smartyd
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Hi. I had my site http://www.theamazingagingmind.com checked by the markup validation site and I have a slew of invalid code that I can't find. For example, there are a bunch of these (where the site SAYS I have a certain code, and I know it relates to the images I put at the begining of my posts, but I can't find the code anywhere). Example:
    Error:
    …aption alignleft" style="width: 210px"><a href="http://www.zazzle.com/sanity_is…

    What I have on that post (http://www.theamazingagingmind.com/2010/alzheimers-and-parkinsons-caregiving/) is:
    [caption id="attachment_483" align="alignleft" width="200" caption="Caregiving not for the fainthearted"]<a href="http://www.zazzle.com/sanity_is...

    Where else would a post code be stored so I can fix it?
    Thanks
    Frustrated

  2. smartyd
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    In looking over the list of invalid markups, it's evident EVERYTHING I add to this site produces invalid markup: youtube, amazon associate, statcounter, all images!! Argh! Is this due to WordPress 3.0 bugs or what?

  3. iridiax
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    WordPress uses XHTML and most add-on code from other sites is HTML, so it will generate code errors. If there is an XHTML option for the add-on code, then use that instead. If not, you can typically ignore the errors unless they are causing display problems.

    http://codex.wordpress.org/HTML_to_XHTML

    The other main cause of bad code in WordPress is using the visual editor. You can disable it somewhere in your dashboard.

  4. iridiax
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Most of your errors are due to having a plain & instead of the XHTML code version in your code.

  5. smartyd
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    What a relief! Thanks for the link. I went out into the world and ran a bunch of well-known sites on the w3c checker, and they all have tons of errors. But I shall be among the few with only a few thanks to you. : )

  6. matthendrick
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I think I might be having the same problem - can you take a look at http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A//blackops-multiplayer.com/ and let me know if this is similar to what you saw? There are no obvious display problems when you visit the site.

    Thanks in advance!

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic