WordPress.org

Ready to get started?Download WordPress

Forums

WordPress SEO by Yoast
I read great reviews... but I couldn't get it to work. (6 posts)

1 star
  1. pazzaglia
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I spent about two weeks trying to get this plug-in to work. No matter what I did the sitemaps were barfed-up and rejected by google.

    The interface IS confusing. The author tries to be comical or ironic with some of the selections - so when you read a description next to the check-box your're left wondering "sooo... should I check it or not?"

    I've used plug-ins by non-English native speakers (Newsletter by Satollo is a great example) that are absolutely brilliant and clearly written and work straight out of the box.

    I recommend the plug-in author take a look at all of the selected options, group them in a way that makes sense, and remove all of the jokes from the interface (they are not funny) and work on a solid plug-in that works for most people most of the time with pre-sets that won't ruin your SEO if you don't know what you're doing.

    Good luck, and I hope to see newer, better, version. I still need SEO help - but it looks like this plugin is not for me.

    Kudos to those who were able to make it work DESPITE the bugs and interface.

  2. mbrsolution
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Hello @pazzaglia1, could you share with us what exactly you could not get to work on your website while trying to set this plugin?

    Kind and warm regards

  3. pazzaglia
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I mentioned what didn't work at the beginning of my review. The sitemaps were visible to the naked eye but something about their format made Google Webmaster Tools not want to accept them.

    Also, I could not figure out which options did what. Sometimes the description of the option wasn't clear if checking the box meant that you DID or DID NOT want that option to be activated.

    Ciao,

    L

    P.S. I looked in and posted in the support forums about the sitemaps problem and a kind soul not affiliated with the plug-in tried to help but to no avail. This plug-in is too popular for the developer to support.

    After two weeks of moving my website to a whole new platform (from blogger to wordpress) which meant everything had a new URL and no sitemaps or support, I had to give up on this plug-in.

    Now I'm using AllInOne SEO - it's not as comprehensive as Yoast (no options to add a footer on the RSS, for example) but 1. the sitemaps worked immediately and 2. The interface was easy to understand.

  4. mbrsolution
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Hello pazzaglia1, I am sorry to hear of your bad experience using this plugin. May I ask you if you also checked and set up correctly your permalinks in WordPress? If they are not set up correctly that can also cause problems with the sitemap settings. You can also check Yoast plugin instructions if you have not already done so.

    If there is anything else that I can assist you with please let me know.

    Kind regards

  5. pazzaglia
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I added a PS to my message while you were typing your response. Yes, tried about three different things - including permalinks, ect. No avail!

    Thanks for your note.

    Ciao,

    L

  6. mbrsolution
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Hello pazzaglia1, I am happy to know that you opted for another plugin that is working for you. The end result is to have a plugin that works for you and help your website function the way it was intended.

    Kind and warm regards

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Plugin

About this Topic

Tags

No tags yet.