Forums

Has anyone else gotten comment spam linking to Google.com??? (8 posts)

  1. JanChristian
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    My site isn't even running yet and i've gotten two spam comments in the last week. The posts only contained lorem-ipsum dummy text. Has anyone else had this happen? Anyway to stop it? Here are the two i've received:

    Author : Kelly Brown (IP: 89.28.14.35 , 89-28-14-35.starnet.md)
    E-mail : kellybrown@ds4ns1ns2.cn
    URL : http://www.google.com
    Whois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=89.28.14.35
    Comment:
    The best information i have found exactly here. Keep going Thank you

    Author : KattyBlackyard (IP: 89.28.14.35 , 89-28-14-35.starnet.md)
    E-mail : katty@ds4ns1ns2.cn
    URL : http://www.google.com
    Whois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=89.28.14.35
    Comment:
    I really like your post. Does it copyright protected?

  2. JanChristian
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    I forgot about comment blacklisting (IP)...

  3. ViewsFromTucson
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    Yep, I have received several, sometimes duplicate, comments from that same IP address. You can see some of their recent activity on http://www.stopforumspam.com/

    At first I thought it was real, but the repetition with different names and the same IP address gave it away.

  4. tcbp
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    I received one of these as well and wonder what the purpose of this spam is if it just includes google as the website. Either way the comment was actually kind of sort of almost relevant sounding and it was the first I had received from that IP that I could see so although I was suspicious (the email address was really the only thing that set off any alarm bells in my head) I did let it through. I guess I'll go back and remove it now!

  5. alysonwonderlan
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    I'm also wondering what the point of this spam is. I've received one a day from a different "person" for the last three days, all with comments that compliment my posts but are not related (Great info here, blah, blah, blah) and with the same links and information. Poor grammar too. :-)

  6. kerryd
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    I've gotten these same posts.

    I saw the Google.com link and wondered how weird that was.

    I'm sure the purpose of leaving these comments is just to be annoying. Luckly, my spam filter marked them as spam and I just deleted them.

    I'm going to be checking my website more often to make sure these things don't just sit there.

  7. casciato
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    I got one of these too. My guess is they hope to have a legit looking comment approved so later spam comments from same email address will get through.

  8. metrx1
    Member
    Posted 2 years ago #

    I got the same message also about being copyright protected, and from the same person, thought it was very weird, i just marked it off as spam

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic

Tags

No tags yet.