I have a goldfish blog, Fancy Goldfish and Friends. As I was searching the web about goldfish I came across this WordPress.ORG blog Gold Fish Aquarium Gold Fish and discovered they had lifted the header I had created for my blog and made it theirs.
They do not have any contact info so I've tried relaying messages to them through their moderated comments to please remove my header and they have refused to do so. I told them I was upset they lifted my header and I was unhappy for what they have done. They know how I feel but refuse to change their header.
Is there anything within WordPress.ORG which can correct this situation?
Thank you for the information and I will use it, however I really do not have a way to contact these folks. I've tried through their moderated comments without any results. Since they do not have any contact information about them, could WordPress.ORG contact them and let them know I would like to communicate with them about this copyright issue?
You've been really helpful and I don't expect much can be done about this and I will have to blogger-up and roll with the punches, but if WordPress.org could contact them I certainly would appreciate it.
WordPress.org and the WordPress Foundation has no influence or control over how people use their product, and provide no limitations for use. Which is to say once you take the code, you can do what you want (within the limitations of the GPL and trademark policy). While they did steal from YOU, they did not violate WP's policy.
You're on your own here.
phenomenoodle
Member
Posted 1 year ago #
Contact their host - they will have contact info for the site owners. You could also try a whois search to see what contact info you find.
Thank you Ipstenu. I don't really understand these hosts, orgs, and things so well. My wife totally understands what you wrote and agreed with you.
Phenomenodle my wife did what you said, a whois search and all the info she could gather was: Error: Malformed requestDomain Name A search for the site in question is just a viscous circle. They obviously do not want to be known.
Oh well, live and learn I suppose.
Thanks everybody,
Preston
phenomenoodle
Member
Posted 1 year ago #
http://whois.domaintools.com/aquariumfishs.com
Perhaps your wife got that error because she put in the whole url? The domain itself would be aquariumfishs.com and the 'goldfish' part is a subdomain.
Anyway, teh link above gives you some contact details. I see they're hosted with Hostgator, so you could contact them to start action against the site.
The blog which lifted my header and made it their own has now removed it. I want to thank all of you so much for your help. Your advice was wonderful and I thank you so much.