Forums

IP blacklisted ? mediaplan.ovh.net : can't fetch feeds nor plugins update (8 posts)

  1. oncletom
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Hello,

    I run WordPress 2.3.3, WordPress 2.5.1 and WordPress Mu 1.3.x blogs on a shared hosting. It's provided by the french firm OVH.
    However I noticed my RSS feed on the dashboard did not updated since december. I got in touch with their technical support.

    First, I thought cURL was not working fine and finally, it seemed that cURL did not work well only with *.wordpress.org URL (such as feed, plugins updates etc.).

    Finally it seems the IP 213.186.33.17 (corresponding to mediaplan.ovh.net ; a shared hosting pack for media hosting) is blacklisted. And it would be the reason I can't fetch any feed on this particular hosting.

    Could we fix this issue together ? Here is a partial list of concerned blogs that are in trouble :
    - case.oncle-tom.net
    - blogcamp.fr
    - sam-escrime.fr
    - art-hono.org
    - blog.erreur503.net

    Thanks a lot :-)

    PS : the blacklist is certainly due to something but the problem it's affecting many more websites than it should :-/ including my blogs

  2. whooami
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    You might be very nice, but I will be honest with you and say that I nullroute all of ovh.net

    Its ripe with spammers.

    --

    This forum, however, is not the place to bring up your concern. No-one here can help you. If an IP or subnet is blacklisted, then you take it up with where it's being blacklisted. And honestly, thats not even your cross to bear, that's your host's.

    --

    Re-reading your post, you may be referring to the feeds that show up in your dashboard. If thats the case, this still isnt the right place to try and resolve that.

  3. oncletom
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Hello,

    indeed OVH may contain a lot of spammers but the mediaplan.ovh has ONE UNIQUE IP for maybe thousand customers.
    At least, there is one unique IP per hosting pack. It's the only one which seems to be blacklisted as I don't have any problem on other hosting packs.

    So instead of telling me this is not the right place, could you be pleasant enough to guide me to a better place ? Except "Miscellaneous" forum, I don't see why this one wasn't good. It was troubleshooting for me.

    And feeds/plugins updates notification don't show up because as the IP is blacklisted, I can't access to the feeds and I can't see any updates. Not semi-automatic plugin update in this case :-/
    It's what is annoying me.

  4. whooami
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    The right place, would be to contact whomever is responsible for this domain. I am guessing a whois would provide that information.

  5. oncletom
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Hm, as I explained I already contacted the support of the hosting company. It's them who told me the IP was blacklisted.

    I don't think they can act on they side so the only is to contact someone who is in charge of blacklisting. I thought WP.org support was running accross these forums.

  6. whooami
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    I said nothing about the contacting the hosting company. I said to contact the owner of the domain.

    Is your ability to whois broke?

    I very clearly see an e-mail address and phone number, and PO BOX in the output of the whois.

    I thought WP.org support was running accross these forums.

    This forum is not a contact area for Matt. How often he reads these forums is for only him to know. Like I said .. you get the relevant contact info from a whois.

  7. oncletom
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Ok I misexplained myself : mediaplan.ovh.net is a subdomain of the hosting company for a particular hosting package.

    Thanks.

  8. whooami
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    OK, and consequently, you might not underdtand my answer. YOu need to contact Matt, the owner of this domain. Not via these forums, either.

    Do a whois on this domain, theres all sorts of contact info.

    If you rather, he has contact info listed on his (new)site. http://www.ma.tt

    yes that url actually works.

    Good luck.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic