This is in now way a "trojan horse". Please explain what you mean by this?
The plugin is built on the "freemium" model which in all fairness, provides you with basic mapping functionality for those who don't know how to program and work with the Google Maps API. If you do, then you don't need this plugin. If you would like advanced functionality like using Fusion tables and directions, etc this is when you can upgrade to the "Pro" plan - this is not forced on you at all and does not limit you from using the basic plugin.
Furthermore, no one has ever mentioned the tables causing "havoc" once the plugin has been removed - please can you elaborate on this problem? When the plugin is deactivated or deleted, the tables remain in your DB. This is to ensure that when you deactivate and reactivate the plugin, your markers and maps are not lost.
Please let me know if you have any more questions or concerns?