WordPress.org

Ready to get started?Download WordPress

Forums

NextGEN Facebook: Advanced Social Optimization
[resolved] "Could not retrieve data from URL." (8 posts)

  1. bbq797
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Hi,
    Thanks for a great plugin! I would love to get it to work correctly, I get this error message when I try testing w/Facebook Debugger.

    I'm not sure why I'm getting this message and would appreciate any help.

    Thanks!!

    http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/nextgen-facebook/

  2. JS Morisset
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    The Facebook debugger has been buggy itself in the past. ;-) It works fine for me this morning though. Which URL are you checking?

    Thanks,

    js.

  3. bbq797
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I just checked, still not working for me : (

    The number of "Likes" is also inaccurate (just starting out, so need all the likes I can get!)

    My site is playonlongisland.com

    Thanks!

  4. JS Morisset
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    When you disable the NextGEN Facebook OG plugin, is the Facebook debugger able to crawl your page?

    BTW, the "Facebook Admin(s)" should only contain the account name, not the full URL. I'll add a filter for that in the next version.

    I see you have a Facebook App ID as well -- you don't need to list both. You can remove the "Facebook Admin(s)".

    Let me know the result after disabling the NGFB plugin, and we'll continue from there...

    Thanks,

    js.

  5. JS Morisset
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    BTW, you're probably aware of this, but your site is super slow. Have a look at this post http://surniaulula.com/2012/12/01/wordpress-caching-and-plugins-for-performance/ -- it may help. You could also search for "WordPress Caching OR Performance" on Google for other solutions. I know W3 Total Cache, and others, are very popular.

    js.

  6. bbq797
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Thanks for your responses, much appreciated : )

    I did disable the plugin, but debugger is unable to scrape the page. I'm not sure what that means.

    Thanks for the cache info, will definitely look into one of them!

  7. JS Morisset
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    Your website may be too slow for the Facebook debugger. Do you have a lot of plugins enabled? Disable them and re-try the Facebook debugger, then re-enable them one by one. Maybe you have one plugin with performance issues.

    You could also use a service like this one http://www.webpagetest.org/ to measure the effects on performance from re-enabling each plugin.

    Performance is important for good Google ranking, so if you want to appear in Google search results, you'll have to improve the performance of your website.

    Since this issue isn't related to NextGEN Facebook OG, I will update the status to resolved.

    js.

  8. bbq797
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Okay, thanks for the help anyway!

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Plugin

About this Topic

Tags

No tags yet.