Forums

Comment - Tries to install virus when homepage loaded (4 posts)

  1. devilslayer
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    Hello all,

    I hope somebody can shed some light on this one. I had a comment left on my homepage that tried to upload a virus to my computer. (It seemed to be connecting to a php script on the comment posters website.

    Norton Intercepted it.

    When I viewed the comment using the link that wordpress sends you, it seemed harmless enough.

    <strong>Brake</strong>
    
    In few years we will see a result

    How does the comment connect to the website url to download the virus?

    A new comment on the post #1 "Welcome to Model Yacht Racing" is waiting for your
    approval
    http://www.modelyachtracing.co.uk/2007/05/10/hello-world/

    Author : Brake (IP: 81.177.26.20 , 81.177.26.20)
    E-mail :
    URL : http://ggxpxjpiuoocvvp.com
    Whois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=81.177.26.20
    Comment:
    Brake

    In few years we will see a result

  2. mjreedfamily
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    If it makes you feel any better, we received the same attempt to "Comment" on our blog as well. However, it looked as if they tried to comment to a page that was closed to comments -- so how did they do that?
    Mine came from the same IP: 81.177.26.20

    But the name was "Brown"
    With some inane message and a link to a weird website which I didn't click on.

    I just deleted it.

  3. Chris_K
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    However, it looked as if they tried to comment to a page that was closed to comments -- so how did they do that?

    Probably a Trackback. That's the way most blog comment spam seems to arrive, unfortunately.

  4. josepo
    Member
    Posted 4 years ago #

    I got that comment to. Just deleted it.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic