WordPress.org

Ready to get started?Download WordPress

Forums

Browser bug (23 posts)

  1. kartus
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Hello all,
    My site is http://www.agrohol.com . I'm using firefox and i have no problems with viewing the site, but when i open it with my IE, i don't see the recent updates i made :(. Can someone explain to me why is this happening?

  2. You probably need to manually clear and delete your cache (temporary internet files).

    Here is a how-to:
    http://winhelp2002.mvps.org/delcache.htm

  3. kartus
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    This problem exists on few PCs and laptops i tried. They all don't use IE as a default browser and they use version 8.0.7600. Personally i don't care much. But there are people who use IE and will use my site :(.

  4. Andrew Nevins
    Barrel Rider, Spam Zapper & Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 1 year ago #

    So, if you add a 10px red border to the body element, it won't show up on Internet Explorer ?

  5. Are you using a caching plugin?

  6. kartus
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Hi Andrew.
    I must say i said my problem very stupidly.Some things change, some dont.
    Basiclly all the things i edit about the way my site looks are not shown in IE. I will give you examples:
    1st. The bacground-
    IE- The old one that i used - just and yellow collor
    FF/GC- The image i decided to use
    2nd. Menu
    IE- Blue background with blue text
    FF/GC- Yellow bcg / blue text
    3rd.
    this is the most interesting part. I was wondering how to remove the grey border of the thumbnails for quite a while, and in IE it is not showed.
    But things like - new pages, or plugins are showed.
    And i just changed my menu to red/yellow menu and its not shown in IE.

  7. It's caching issues.

    1. If you're using a caching plugin... be sure to empty it after changes.
    2. MANUALLY clear your browser cache after making adjustments.

    These are really the only two possibilities I can think of...

  8. kartus
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Hi to you too josh,
    I dont use caching plugin.
    The ones i use are cartplauj pm/mingle forum/simple avatars/woocommece and slideshow gallery. the 1st 3 of them are all for the forum. And about clearing my browser cache - like i said - i don't use IE but there probably will be people who use it.

  9. Andrew Nevins
    Barrel Rider, Spam Zapper & Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 1 year ago #

    There might be certain styles that don't work in IE, or certain selectors.

  10. There might be certain styles that don't work in IE, or certain selectors.

    There you go... thinking outside the box again ;)

    Thanks Andrew!

    EDIT: Hi Kartus!

  11. And about clearing my browser cache - like i said - i don't use IE but there probably will be people who use it.

    Ohhhh... well, might I suggest something? Install IE on your machine for testing purposes. Then, you can check and verify it for yourself. I despise IE... but... you'll see it's little 'quick launch' icon on my desktop ;)

  12. kartus
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    So andrew.
    is there something i can do about that. Or i must add to the site that it must be not opened with IE cuz it sux xD (which will be quite unprofesional)

  13. Andrew Nevins
    Barrel Rider, Spam Zapper & Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Sorry, I can't help right now, but other forum volunteers are always happy to help.

  14. kmessinger
    Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Early versions of IE had problems with backgrounds like you are using. It looks ok in IE10 but not in 9 or 8.

    There could be other issues also. You have some open tags that show up in validation. IE has a hard time with those. You have some problems in css I think having to do with your backgrounds.

    There is also support for your theme here, http://themeid.com/support/

  15. kartus
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    i really hope so. Thanks for trying anyway :)

  16. kartus
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    hmm ,
    hi kmes,
    so i really must tell people not to open it with IE(exept v10)...
    that kind of sux... thank you, i will check theme supp.

  17. WPyogi
    Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I would definitely fix the HTML errors before doing anything else - some of those errors can cause CSS to not function correctly, especially in IE:

    http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fagrohol.com%2F&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=Inline&group=0

    http://codex.wordpress.org/Validating_a_Website

    Check the CSS too.

  18. kmessinger
    Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Millions of sites look ok in IE9, 8 and 7. You just need to make changes. The gradient menu bar - check out other sites. As a design feature it really adds nothing to the over-all looks and workings of the site.

    Check the validation errors, http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3a%2f%2fagrohol.com%2f You can't expect a site to work in all browsers with errors.

  19. kartus
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Okay. Thank you all. I'm on to it :). Thank you for the validator link. It will be the first thing i will to tomorrow morning. I will tell you how it went :).

  20. kartus
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Hi all, can someone tell me what is wrong in this code?

    <a href="http://www.vantotrade.bg"><img src="http://agrohol.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/874ee4a65f8517fb760d749f8dce1bfb.eps_.jpg" />
    <a href="http://www.newholland.com/Pages/index.html"><img src="http://agrohol.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/new-holland.jpg"/>
    <a href="http://www.maschionet.com"><img src="http://agrohol.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/gaspardo.jpg"/>
    <a href="http://fr.gregoire-besson.com"><img src="http://agrohol.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/logo_gb__047418900_1255_05052009.gif"/>

    The validator gives different errors in everyone of them, tho they are the same??? I really am confused.
    In the validator they are in lines 92 and 93.

  21. Andrew Nevins
    Barrel Rider, Spam Zapper & Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 1 year ago #

    You should say what errors the validator gives.

    It looks like there are 2 things wrong;
    1. You're not closing off your anchor tags.
    2. You don't have alt attributes in your images.

  22. kartus
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Hi andrew
    An a start tag seen but an element of the same type was already open.
    An img element must have an alt attribute, except under certain conditions. For details, consult guidance on providing text alternatives for images.
    about anchor tags. Do you mean that i must put /a in the code? Can you please write to me how exactly should the code look? Cuz every time i add /a i get more errors. With 4 /a i get 8 errors more ... I really can't understand anything from this validator...

  23. Andrew Nevins
    Barrel Rider, Spam Zapper & Volunteer Moderator
    Posted 1 year ago #

    HTML forums may be better suited to these queries;
    http://www.htmlforums.com

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic

Tags

No tags yet.