Forums

[closed] Bluehost email servers blacklisted (3 posts)

  1. Den
    Member
    Posted 12 months ago #

    I picked Bluehost based on the WordPress.org site recommendation for a new site 5 months ago. Account setup and wordpress install was simple. Our website on bluehost ran fine.

    Problems started early in May when a bunch of our outgoing mail was getting bounced back due to Bluehost mail servers getting blacklisted by spamcop. After a few days mail was ok and Bluehost assured me it wouldn't happen again. But, mid-May a few more blacklist bounces, and the last few days of May another batch of our outgoing mail failed again - bluehost mail servers blacklisted by spamcop.

    The site I'm hosting on Bluehost is just a small business - they don't do any email marketing - only normal individual business correspondence. So, we know it has nothing to do with us. But, since there are thousands of sites/domains hosted on bluehost there's always a likely-hood that some other bluehost user is causing spamcop to blacklist bluehost servers. And, it's just a luck of the draw whether our outgoing mail happens to go through a bluehost mail server that is blacklisted.

    Email is a primary form of business communication. For most small businesses it's far more critical to be able to send email than it is to have a website running.

    Bluehost tells me they change their mail IPs after they appear on spamcop lists. And, they said they could not give me a dedicated IP for our mail. One bluehost tech suggested I get Google Business email and route our email through that.

    I'm open to suggestions for fixing the bluehost problem. But, I don't see any point in keeping my website & email hosted through two different companies. I'd rather just drop bluehost and find a new host who can handle a simple wordpress site and ensure that our outgoing mail won't be blacklisted due to actions of their other customers.

    Anyone have recommendations for other hosting companies that are able to avoid blacklisting problems?

    Connected to 67.94.249.102 but sender was rejected.
    Remote host said: 550 This system is configured to reject mail from
    oproxy5-pub.bluehost.com [67.222.39.38] (Host blacklisted - Found on
    Realtime Black List server 'bl.spamcop.net')
  2. bh_WP_fan
    Member
    Posted 12 months ago #

    Anyone have recommendations for other hosting companies that are able to avoid blacklisting problems?

    No hosting company is able to avoid blacklisting problems. Most smart hosting companies use multiple outgoing mail servers and swap out IPs from time to time to try to help their servers avoid it as much as possible, however, even this is not perfect. It also sounds like BlueHost already does this, based on what you've already said.

    If blacklists happen, you should be able to call your host and they should be able to at the very least tell you that they are working on it or, if they are unable to at the time, tell you why.

    If your host can provide that information, the best route to avoid this type of blacklisting isn't to switch hosts, but it would instead be to setup your mail client to send through your ISPs outgoing mail servers instead of specifying your host's mail servers. This way you could still keep your @domain.com email address, and still send/receive with it, but your mail servers, being your ISP's mail servers, would not be blacklisted.

  3. esmi
    Theme Diva & Forum Moderator
    Posted 12 months ago #

    Due to the amount of spam that hosting topics attract, I'm now closing this one. Please try searching through the existing hosting topics on the forums.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic