WordPress.org

Ready to get started?Download WordPress

Forums

BackWPup Free - WordPress Backup Plugin
Amazon S3 settings deleted by recent update (8 posts)

  1. philipjohn
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I've noticed that I have to go round all the sites I use this plugin on and re-enter the Amazon S3 credentials in order to have my backups saved properly... how ridiculous!

    I saw this in one of my logs as a result:

    ERROR: No destination correctly defined for backup! Please correct job settings.

    Presumably, though, those credentials (which really need to not be just hanging around anywhere) are still in their old place in the database?

    http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/backwpup/

  2. Dzynit
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    The same thing happened to me. But I also see a new dropdown box with different S3 locations now. I assume this is an improvement for people that might have one of those different locations rather than the default US Standard location.
    If the plugin author could confirm on this please? And it "is" very frustrating to have to re-enter all the info on all the sites it's in use on. Wouldn't it be possible to prefill all that with the original default location (if it's not already been upgraded to this version and changed) and keep the keys and bucket info we've put in prior?

  3. Daniel Hüsken
    Member
    Plugin Author

    Posted 1 year ago #

    normely the key will be taken from old version 2.x

  4. Dzynit
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Just upgraded another 2.1.17 to the latest version and again all the s3 settings were gone.

  5. philipjohn
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I assumed it would do that Daniel but they've disappeared on the 15-odd sites that I use the plugin on.

    Has there been a change in where they are stored perhaps?

  6. kukuleta
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    very similar problem on my two hosts.

    getting the error message "ERROR: No destination correctly defined for backup! Please correct job settings."

    I realized that Dropbox authentication is deleted after the upgrade. So i basicly Authanticated it again. I clicked "Authenticate Full Dropbox" and then i clicked "allow" on dropbox page. Returned my website and saw the green message of plugin "Authenticated!". But hey? It keeps getting removed immediately. Authentication is not saved! I click "To: Dropbox" tab after authentication and see the red "Not authenticated!" message again. I tried it more than a few times.. and it's same on my two different hosts.

  7. philipjohn
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    Any clue on this? I'm holding off updating the plugin on a few sites because of this issue.

    Thanks

  8. Dzynit
    Member
    Posted 1 year ago #

    I just updated from 3.0.4 to the latest 3.0.6 and the settings were still there and correct. I don't have a site with prior to 3.0.4 now though to test jumping to 3.0.6.

    philipjohn, if you would try one of yours if they're still below 3.0.4 and post back on if the settings saved, it could be helpful for this post.

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Plugin

About this Topic

Tags

No tags yet.