Forums

Which version of 2.0 am I running? (17 posts)

  1. planetthoughtful
    Member
    Posted 3 years ago #

    This may well be a very silly question, but is there a way to tell which version of WP 2.0 I'm running? I was under the impression I'd downloaded a Release Candidate of WP 2.0, but in the Admin pages it simply displays "2.0".

    I've experienced a couple of odd problems so far, and I don't want to waste anyone's time asking questions if some of these things can be solved by installing a more recent version.

    Any help appreciated,

    planetthoughtful

  2. MichaelH
    moderator
    Posted 3 years ago #

    Should show 2.0.1-rc.1 at the bottom of any admin screen.

  3. spencerp
    Member
    Posted 3 years ago #

    I was going to say, I usually just view the source codes of the index page, and it's usually in the header section of it then. But I couldn't find it in his.. :/

    From mine:

    <meta name="generator" content="WordPress 2.0" />

    My guess was he had an RC running and then maybe possibly upgraded to the full version of 2.0 and just forgot that he did it.. =) I dunno though.. :/

    spencerp

  4. MichaelH
    moderator
    Posted 3 years ago #

    Or uploaded and unsuccessfully overwrote files!

  5. spencerp
    Member
    Posted 3 years ago #

    Hahaha..yeah that to. =) You'll have to excuse me, it's still early yet..hahaha. =) But this vodka I'm drinking should wake up quick lol!!

    spencerp

  6. planetthoughtful
    Member
    Posted 3 years ago #

    @spencerp: if you went to http://www.planetthoughtful.org, you wouldn't have seen it because that's not a WP site. That's a blog application I built myself. I'm developing a site at http://www.ulblog.org using WP, and that's the one I'm asking about.

  7. planetthoughtful
    Member
    Posted 3 years ago #

    Okay, so the headers for my WP site say <meta name="generator" content="WordPress 2.0" />. So, I can safely assume this isn't a Release Candidate?

  8. spencerp
    Member
    Posted 3 years ago #

    planetthoughtful, Oh! Ok..I wasn't really sure, cause there wasn't a specific link posted. :/ But it appears you are running 2.0 though.. =)

    Well, like MichaelH said to, should display at the bottom of page in the control panel I guess. =)

    spencerp

    Dang, maybe this vodka IS kicking in quick then lmaO! I should have known because there wasn't any codes spit out for WordPress throughout the whole source code... [slaps self]. DUH Dumb ass!!

  9. MichaelH
    moderator
    Posted 3 years ago #

    My download from the 29th nightly shows
    <meta name="generator" content="WordPress 2.0.1-rc1" />

  10. spencerp
    Member
    Posted 3 years ago #

    MichaelH, yup that would be right hehe. =) Until they get all the stuff situated with it..it will be "classified" as an RC. Once they release the full version of that and you update your blog..it will be diplayed there as just 2.0.1 as far as I know.. =)

    spencerp

  11. spencerp
    Member
    Posted 3 years ago #

    planetthoughtful, as to that http://www.ulblog.org blog of your's, sounds and seems very interesting. I already bookmarked it. =) Good luck with that and keep up the good work on it. =) Nice theme to.. =)

    spencerp

  12. planetthoughtful
    Member
    Posted 3 years ago #

    @spencerp: Why, thank you and thank you!

    I hope it will become an interesting blog - it's a topic I have a great deal to share about, since several years ago I operated a reference site devoted to urban legends and folklore.

    Again, thank you.

  13. spencerp
    Member
    Posted 3 years ago #

    No problem planetthoughtful =) I'm sure it will be and become a very "popular" blog. =) In my case, which isn't too great, when I had just started my website a few years ago on the domain name: twisted-society.com which is currently pointing to my vindictivebastard.net location.

    It was hacked by Turkish hackers, even before I had added any content to it. I was like WTF!? My site was going to be originally about gov't conspiracies, New World Order and stuff of that nature. But, still the thought of being hacked before I got the content on it was disturbing.. =( :/

    So just becareful man.. :/

    spencerp

  14. planetthoughtful
    Member
    Posted 3 years ago #

    Ah, now that bites. Hmmm, I think maybe you need extra-strength tinfoil for your tinfoil hat, if you're going to spend any time writing about government conspiracies without having to worry about Turkish hackers. ;-)

  15. spencerp
    Member
    Posted 3 years ago #

    Hahaha..god damn it lmaO! God damn hackers n shit, for nothing to! Don't understand it..must have just been the domain name and keywords I used within the header section I guess.

    It's weird though, I didn't even post "content" inregards to it at all....mmm. They beat me to the punch I suppose...damn hackers lol!

    spencerp

    P.S. I had gone to that "Hard Truth" "Wake Up America" site before, and that's down...the guy there posted SO MUCH stuff about whatever and he said they basically ran him out of the USA and fled for his life. So I dunno, I still have copies of some of the stuff he posted on his site. It took numerous INK cases to print it all... jesus!

  16. planetthoughtful
    Member
    Posted 3 years ago #

    I've never had problems with hackers before, but then I've always previously built my own sites from scratch.

    This will be the first time I've rolled out a site using a package as widely distributed and 'known' as WP, so it will be interesting to see if any exploits exist that might make it a less than thrilling experience.

  17. spencerp
    Member
    Posted 3 years ago #

    Well planetthoughtful, I think they hacked the actual Host's server and such, rather then just the main site because of the "content" I was going to add to it then. And I'm sure your's won't, being that your's isn't really related to gov't coverups and stuff.

    I think that's why they did it to mine, because I was going to post content on all kinds of stuff. And they prolly assumed my site would be getting LOTS of hits and visitors for that content. I dunno...but it was. I'll try and find the link to show ya what they did. It was posted at a website that has other site's SS and such of them being hacked..

    spencerp

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

About this Topic

Tags