• Resolved DaisyMariposa

(@daisymariposa)

I signed up for WordPress via Network Solutions last night. This morning, I edited the Permalink for the Pretty URL. As soon as I did that, the Dashboard crashed.

I can’t access anything. When I try to log in, I receive a 403 error message “The website declined to show this webpage.” The “most likely cause” that’s listed on the 403 error page is “This website requires you to log in.” (Huh? What I’m trying to do is log in!)

I’m new to creating blogs, but I’m not new to the Internet and Web design. Is there anything I can do to resolve the problem while I’m waiting for Network Solutions to reply to my e-mail?

Thanks for your help.

Viewing 13 replies - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Moderator t-p

(@t-p)

πŸ™‚

Moderator t-p

(@t-p)

-try switching to the default theme to rule out any theme-specific issue.

If you don’t have access to your admin area, then access your server via FTP or SFTP.

Then, Try re-saving your permalink structure at Admin panel>>>Settings>>>Permalinks. If WordPress cannot automatically edit the .htaccess file, it will provide manual instructions after saving.

Also review:

http://codex.wordpress.org/Using_Permalinks
    http://codex.wordpress.org/Using_Permalinks#Where.27s_my_.htaccess_file.3F

Moderator t-p

(@t-p)

Thread Starter DaisyMariposa

(@daisymariposa)

@t-p

I appreciate your taking the time to reply, but as I said earlier I signed up for the blog via Network Solutions, a blog and Web hosting company. I do not have access to a server via any route (neither FTP nor SFTP).

As i said in my last message, I can’t log in. I can’t access anything. I can’t get to the Dashboard. When I try to log in, I receive a 403 error message “The website declined to show this webpage.”

I used the default theme. All I did was change the Permalink from the Ugly URL to the Pretty URL. That’s all. The site crashed. I haven’t even had a change to post any messages.

Moderator t-p

(@t-p)