• is it possible to have 2 blogs running, but use one set of categories. Im trying to have 2 separate “types” of posts that would have a different css, but use the same master list of categories.

I would need to be able to view all type A and type B posts separately. but also be able to look at a category and see, there are X posts of Type A and Y posts of type B.

What is the best way of going about doing this.

Viewing 11 replies - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Thread Starter lozeone

(@lozeone)

does anyone have any suggestions where i can look to get some insight into this?

Sorry if this is easy, I’m a noob, and i’ve searched a lot but cant find anything on this specifically.

So basically you just want one blog with different css applied to different categories?

if so, looks like this was made for 1.2 or earlier… might still work

http://guff.szub.net/2005/07/21/post-templates-by-category/

(looks like they’re working on the extend/plugins section of the site… I’m pretty sure there’s a more recent plugin that does about the same thing.

Thread Starter lozeone

(@lozeone)

sort of. and i was looking at similar scripts, but dont think its really what i want.

Let me try to explain better:

I want to have one master list of categories, that either blog can post to.

When i click on a category, i want to show that there are X posts from blog A (in this category) and Y posts from blog B.

each blog would be formatted differently.

am i making any sense? 🙂

Thread Starter lozeone

(@lozeone)

formatting the categories differently wouldn’t really work in my case. because they should be able to be used across both blogs.

I’m still not clear why you want two blogs. You may be able to achieve the same results with different authors to categories. You would need to change the themes to take into account the author, but that might work …