理念

开箱即用

优秀的软件应该只需简单的安装和设置就可正常使用。WordPress的设计是为了让您在不超过5分钟的时间内就能启动和运行并充分发挥功能。您不必为使用WordPress的标准功能而苦恼。

我们努力确保每一个版本都符合这一理念。在设置过程中,我们要求尽可能少的技术细节,并对我们要求设置的所有项提供尽可能完整、详细的解释。

为大多数人而设计

许多WordPress的终端用户都是非技术性的。他们不知道AJAX是什么,也不关心使用的是哪个版本的PHP。一般的WordPress用户只是希望能够在没有问题或故障的情况下进行写作。这些用户是我们设计软件的对象,因为他们会花很多的时间来使用软件。

决定而非选择

在做决策时,我们首先考虑的是用户的这些问题。一个很好的例子就是软件选项。每当你给用户一个选项时,你都在要求他们做出决定。当用户不关心或不理解选项时,就会导致用户的挫败感。作为开发者,我们有时会认为给所有的东西提供选项是一件好事,你永远不会有太多的选择,对吧?这些选择最终都是技术性的选择,是普通终端用户没有兴趣的选择。作为开发者,我们有责任做出明智的设计决策,避免把技术选择的重任放在最终用户身上。

干净、精益、均衡

WordPress的核心将始终提供一系列坚实的基本功能。其设计精简和快速,并会一直保持这样的形式。我们经常被问到“什么时候能构建某功能”或是“为什么某功能插件没有集成至内核”。根据经验法则,核心应该提供80%或更多终端用户会真正欣赏和使用的功能。如果WordPress的下一版本带有一个大多数用户马上想关闭,或者认为他们永远不会使用的功能,那么我们就搞砸了。如果我们坚持80%的原则,那么这种情况应该就不会发生。

我们之所以能够做到这一点,是因为我们拥有一个非常强大的主题和插件系统以及一个很棒的开发者社区。不同的人有不同的需求,而拥有数量庞大的优质WordPress插件和主题,让用户可以根据自己的偏好来定制安装。这应该可以让所有用户找到剩下的20%,让所有的WordPress功能都成为他们喜欢和使用的功能。

力求简明

我们永远不会因为简单而结束。我们希望每一个版本都能让WordPress更容易使用。我们在这方面有很好的记录,如果您不相信我们,那就回顾看看WordPress的一些旧版本吧。

在过去的版本中,我们已经采取重大措施来提高易用性,并最终使其变得更简单易懂。其中一个很好的例子就是核心软件的更新。更新曾经是一项麻烦的手动任务,对我们的许多用户来说太过棘手。我们决定专注于此,并将其简化为一次点击。现在,任何安装了WordPress的用户都可对WordPress的核心软件和插件及主题进行一键是升级。

我们乐于挑战自我并以对整体WordPress用户体验有利的方式简化任务。每个WordPress版本都应该比上一个版本更容易使用。

截止日期不是随意的

截止日期不是随意的,它们是我们对于我们自己和帮助我们的用户的一个承诺,这将帮助我们控制住那些有可能成为每一个发行版一部分的东西中所蕴含的无穷无尽的可能性。我们希求每年发布三个主要版本,因为在尝试和错误中,我们发现这可以在把酷的东西加入每一个发行版和不最终破坏更多的东西之间取得平衡。

好的截止日期几乎总会使得你从一个发行版中去掉一些东西。这不是一件坏事,这正是它们所起到的作用。

为了“再加一个新功能”而推迟版本发布的路线就如兔子洞。我们曾经这样做了一年多,这对于任何人来说都不是一件令人愉快的事情。

版本发布地越频繁和规律,那么一个特定功能加入这一发布版本地重要性也就越低。如果没有赶上这一个发布的版本,在下一个版本之间也就只有几个月。当版本的发布变得无法预测或者数量减少间隔延长,这将会带来更多的压力去尝试再多加入一个新功能,因为在下一个版本到来之前将会有很长一段时间。延迟带来延迟。

少数用户的声音

互联网文化中有一个很好的经验法则,叫做1%法则。其中指出,“在互联网上创建内容的人数约占实际查看该内容的人数的1%(或更少)”。

因此,尽管我们认为倾听和回应那些在论坛上发表反馈和意见的用户非常重要,但他们只代表了我们终端用户的一小部分。在决定如何推进WordPress未来版本的时候,我们希望能让更多的用户参与进来,而这些用户在网上并不经常活跃。我们通过在全球各地的WordCamps会议中与用户见面交谈来实现这一目标,这让我们在理解上有了更好的平衡,最终让我们为大家做出更好的前进决策。

我们的权利法案

WordPress 使用通用公共许可证(GPLv2或更高版本)授权,该许可证提供了四项核心自由,将其视为WordPress的“权利法案”:

  • 为任何目的运行程序的自由。
  • 可以自由地研究程序的工作原理,并对其进行更改以使其按您的意愿进行。
  • 重新分发的自由。
  • 将您修改后的版本分发给他人的自由。

这些许可要求的一部分包括在GPL下对衍生作品或链接WordPress核心功能(如主题、插件等)的资源进行许可,从而将这些作品的使用自由传递给他人。

显然,有些用户会试图绕开这些理想,并试图通过发现漏洞或以某种方式规避WordPress许可的意图来限制用户自由来确保利用自由。我们认为,整个社区将奖励那些致力于支持这些许可自由而不是试图避免这些许可自由的用户。

WordPress 社区应重视GPL中的自由有助于提供高质量的软件。

WordPress.org

Ready to get started?Download WordPress

Philosophy

Out of the Box

Great software should work with little configuration and setup. WordPress is designed to get you up and running and fully functional in no longer than five minutes. You shouldn't have to battle to use the standard functionality of WordPress.

We work hard to make sure that every release is in keeping with this philosophy. We ask for as few technical details as possible during the setup process as well as providing full explanations of anything we do ask.

Design for the Majority

Many end users of WordPress are non-technically minded. They don't know what AJAX is, nor do they care about which version of PHP they are using. The average WordPress user simply wants to be able to write without problems or interruption. These are the users that we design the software for as they are ultimately the ones who are going to spend the most time using it for what it was built for.

Decisions, not Options

When making decisions these are the users we consider first. A great example of this consideration is software options. Every time you give a user an option, you are asking them to make a decision. When a user doesn't care or understand the option this ultimately leads to frustration. As developers we sometimes feel that providing options for everything is a good thing, you can never have too many choices, right? Ultimately these choices end up being technical ones, choices that the average end user has no interest in. It's our duty as developers to make smart design decisions and avoid putting the weight of technical choices on our end users.

Clean, Lean, and Mean

The core of WordPress will always provide a solid array of basic features. It's designed to be lean and fast and will always stay that way. We are constantly asked "when will X feature be built" or "why isn't X plugin integrated into the core". The rule of thumb is that the core should provide features that 80% or more of end users will actually appreciate and use. If the next version of WordPress comes with a feature that the majority of users immediately want to turn off, or think they'll never use, then we've blown it. If we stick to the 80% principle then this should never happen.

We are able to do this because we have a very capable theme and plugin system and a fantastic developer community. Different people have different needs, and having the sheer number of quality WordPress plugins and themes allows users to customize their installations to their taste. That should allow all users to find the remaining 20% and make all WordPress features those they appreciate and use.

Striving for Simplicity

We're never done with simplicity. We want to make WordPress easier to use with every single release. We've got a good track record of this, if you don't believe us then just take a look back at some older versions of WordPress!

In past releases we've taken major steps to improve ease of use and ultimately make things simpler to understand. One great example of this is core software updates. Updating used to be a painful manual task that was too tricky for a lot of our users. We decided to focus on this and simplified it down to a single click. Now anyone with a WordPress install can perform one click upgrades on both the core of WordPress and plugins and themes.

We love to challenge ourselves and simplify tasks in ways that are positive for the overall WordPress user experience. Every version of WordPress should be easier and more enjoyable to use than the last.

Deadlines Are Not Arbitrary

Deadlines are not arbitrary, they’re a promise we make to ourselves and our users that helps us rein in the endless possibilities of things that could be a part of every release. We aspire to release three major versions a year because through trial and error we’ve found that to be a good balance between getting cool stuff in each release and not so much that we end up breaking more than we add.

Good deadlines almost always make you trim something from a release. This is not a bad thing, it’s what they’re supposed to do.

The route of delaying a release for that one-more-feature is, literally, a rabbit hole. We did that for over a year once, and it wasn’t pleasant for anybody.

The more frequent and regular releases are, the less important it is for any particular feature to be in this release. If it doesn’t make it for this one, it’ll just be a few months before the next one. When releases become unpredictable or few and far between, there’s more pressure to try and squeeze in that one more thing because it’s going to be so long before the next one. Delay begets delay.

The Vocal Minority

There's a good rule of thumb within internet culture called the 1% rule. It states that "the number of people who create content on the internet represents approximately 1% (or less) of the people actually viewing that content".

So while we consider it really important to listen and respond to those who post feedback and voice their opinions on forums, they only represent a tiny fraction of our end users. When making decisions on how to move forward with future versions of WordPress, we look to engage more of those users who are not so vocal online. We do this by meeting and talking to users at WordCamps across the globe, this gives us a better balance of understanding and ultimately allows us to make better decisions for everyone moving forward.

Our Bill of Rights

WordPress is licensed under the General Public License (GPLv2 or later) which provides four core freedoms, consider this as the WordPress "bill of rights":

  • The freedom to run the program, for any purpose.
  • The freedom to study how the program works, and change it to make it do what you wish.
  • The freedom to redistribute.
  • The freedom to distribute copies of your modified versions to others.

Part of those licensing requirements include licensing derivative works or things that link core WordPress functions (like themes, plugins, etc.) under the GPL as well, thereby passing on the freedom of use for these works as well.

Obviously there are those who will try to get around these ideals and restrict the freedom of their users by trying to find loopholes or somehow circumvent the intention of the WordPress licensing, which is to ensure freedom of use. We believe that the community as a whole will reward those who focus on supporting these licensing freedoms instead of trying to avoid them.

The most responsible use of WordPress community resources would therefore be put to best use by emphasizing high quality contributions that embrace the freedoms provided by the GPL